Things I’d forgotten about Marathon Training.

I’m 2 months into training for my 2nd marathon – Whoooo – but I’m remembering all the things I forgot about the first time I trained. Certainly many things are different since my first marathon was actually the first race I ever signed up for (I did run two 5k races before the marathon after much persuasion from my dad), and since that marathon I’ve run 4 half marathons and completed a Tough Mudder so running has become a huge part of my life. Now, running and working out is just something I do, sure I want to take an extra day off here and there, but for the most part it’s no longer a challenge to get myself going. However, marathon training seems to impact my life way more than training for any other race.

1) “I can’t, I have a long run in the morning” or “I can’t, I have a long run in 2 days and tonight’s sleep is the sleep that matters”

I plan my weekend life around the long run. It involves waking up early (for a Saturday) so that I can spend the rest of my day after the run being productive for school and spending time with friends. It means I have to be very careful about what I eat on Friday – GOD HELP ME if I upset my stomach. It also means that on Thursday night I better get a beautiful 8 hours of sleep or come mile 9 on Saturday morning I will be ready to die riding the struggle bus.

2) I constantly have to wash my long run clothes.

The workout gear I wear for long runs is pretty specific, and while my training calls mid-week 9 mile runs “mids” my body still prefers to be outfitted in my best gear. Compression, no chaffing, all the little pockets I need, no blisters – this stuff is the bomb. BUT this means I am constantly.washing.those.damn.running.pants. Eventually I’ll buy another pair….

3) I AM ALWAYS HUNGRY.

At first it was especially after a long run. But now that my weekly mileage has gone up significantly, being hungry is just a way of life. When I was training the first time, following a long run, I could eat 2 chicken breasts and nearly a whole box of pasta on my own for dinner. I may have definitely gained some weight while training the first time, so I am trying not to repeat that horrible eating plan.  As a poor graduate student I can’t really afford to buy a lot of food anyways, and thus I’m just going to continue being constantly hungry.

There will be more I’m sure… I haven’t lost any toenails yet or ruined any gear… but those will come in due time I know it.

Hoping to post more frequently as I’ve made some schedule/life changes recently!

Mileage – 5 miles

QOD – If you want to run, run a mile. If you want to experience a different life, run a marathon.

run. sleep

One thought on “Things I’d forgotten about Marathon Training.

  1. My dad just did his first one this past weekend while I did the 5k. I can’t wait to be able to do one with him, even if he finishes hours ahead of me! I never liked running but after a race, its different.

Leave a Reply

