New Recipe Favorites!

The past 4 days I’ve been working like crazy for my assistantship (auditions and making orchestra folders) and at my new part time job (bookstore so we’ve got textbook mania going on right now). BUT I’m hoping as I settle into a schedule I can make my blogging more consistent.

I’ve been chipping away at my runs – most sitting in the 3-4 mile range as I readjust to 80 degree heat even at 6am and making sure my legs are healthy and ready for marathon training. Mileage buildup for pre-training prep starts again this week! 

I’ve also been cranking out new recipes and I have two awesome ones to share. 

First is a collection of smoothie recipes and tips on freezing them! I made 3 weeks worth – and while I LOVE the recipes and the concept – I don’t have quite the time once I get into the semester to blend one up every morning and make sure the blender is clean for the next day (you have to dry it fast or the fruit cakes on, even while soaking). I’ve been eating them with my muffin tin eggs but I may go back to something I can have fully cooked on Sunday and just grab and go every morning once I run out of all my smoothies. I love the smoothies because I control all the ingredients in them – I even eliminated the apple juice and water as my liquids and have just been using fresh pressed orange juice for all of them. 

The second is one of my dinners for this week and I am possibly now obsessed with this dish. Buffalo Chicken Quinoa Salad! My only changes were that I used a microwave steam bag of broccoli since I had it on had and I used just bottled buffalo sauce because it’s a personal favorite – I also may have added extra cabbage and carrots. I love all the veggies mixed into the salad, the protein, and I get all the taste of buffalo wings (a personal favorite) without the frying and creamy bleu cheese dressing! Plus it made enough for 5 meals for me easily. It also cooked up quick – I had everything ready to go in 30 minutes. 

Not the prettiest but dang delicious
photo

Time to get back to practicing! 

Mileage – 3.3 miles, Nike+ Training “Sculpted Arms” workout

QOD – Inaction breeds doubt and fear. Action breeds confidence and courage. If you want to conquer fear, do not sit home and think about it. Go out and get busy.
IMG_5276

Leave a Reply

