Peroneal Tendonitis Struggles.

I AM ALIVE! Just crazy busy playing music all day long at the Dali String Quartet Chamber Festival – and still running! But currently I’m getting my mileage back up after a 5 day rest and a VERY light week.

My first run after getting back to the United States was 2 weeks ago today and I felt a very funny pull and slight twang of pain on the outside of my right calf/ankle. I tried to walk it off but I continued to feel the pull and finished my run early. Like most runners, I went home and hopped online and did my research to self-diagnose.

Side-point: I don’t see anything wrong with this kind of self-diagnosis. I do not diagnose an infection or serious medical condition, nor was this a repetitive injury that may require more attention; when that happens with my hips in particular I go see a physical therapist. But as an athlete who trains regularly I just wanted to identify the area of pain and make sure I took the correct steps towards healing and prevention.

After a lot of research I determined that I had the early signs of peroneal tendonitis, which is an inflammation of the peroneal tendon which run along the outside of the ankle and if left untreated can also impact the Achilles and cause more serious damage.

So I took 5 days off from running and began with a 1.75 mile run last Tuesday, followed by a 2.25 mile run on Friday. I took Sat-Sun-Mon off and went for a 3.1 mile run yesterday and a 4.5 mile run today. My plan for this week is to run my standard number of days just at a much lower mileage avoiding hills and always being aware of my ankle and calves.

Now I’m off to bed…before 10pm…because I have to run and get to the rehearsal site early tomorrow morning! Will most more on the camp and what the next few months look like soon!

Mileage – 4.5 miles

QOD – Injury taught me I need to learn how to face challenges.
gettingstrongerprofessionalathlete

Leave a Reply

