Sunday Grubday – European Style!

Sorry for going MIA upon my return – I was working and spending lots of time with family and friends! I’m currently at my family’s happy place – Bethany Beach! But onto the post I previously promised…

The food in Paris and Italy. Yep, I miss it already. The funny thing about eating overseas is I can eat out daily (although I didn’t), never have any stomach problems, and eat all the foods that I love but rarely eat in the States – aka carbs, carbs, and more carbs.

A well picked restaurant means fresh ingredients and all the processed nonsense that messes with my body in the US just isn’t in the food – but even European processed food is usually cleaner than American. I didn’t eat out everyday because I honestly couldn’t afford that and a good portion of the trip there was no need!

In Paris we went out to one fancy dinner the first night and for a few days I lived off sandwiches from a bakery and fruit I bought at the store. I usually ate a hearty breakfast of yogurt, fruit, “granola bar” things, and fresh cheese. The last few days all my lunches and dinners were fruit, some cucumber, and sandwiches I made myself from a loaf of bread, world’s best goat cheese, and simple sausage I picked up in stores in St. Germain-de-pres.
IMG_5787

IMG_5899

I found these stores through an interview with Ina Garten (The Barefoot Contessa) where she listed her favorite shops in her Paris neighborhood! I’m not joking, the cheese was seriously the best goat cheese I’ve ever eaten and despite it’s cost I would go buy it again in a heartbeat and it lasted for 6 or 7 meals!

In Assisi we were provided a huge breakfast spread every morning by our hotel. I usually ate eggs, fruit, and granola in pineapple yogurt (no really it’s delicious) or a croissant with hazelnut spread. The croissants were baked during the night and we could always smell them when we came in for the night!

For lunch I bought peanut butter, bread, and fruit, and would snag something snacky from breakfast and that lasted me about 10 days. When that ran out I would go to the local market and get an amazing sandwich with fresh sliced meat and cheese for less than 3€!

Our dinners were really something. We had many courses with bread always on the table to start. Then antipasto, a soup and pasta OR two pastas, then a meat, cooked vegetable, raw vegetable, then a small digestif salad before dessert. The desserts were usually something you can serve a large amount of people quickly so we would of course have gelato after the last concert. The antipasto, pasta, and soups were usually my favorite dishes. I also LOVED the raw tomatoes – which normally I don’t like – and amazingly fresh watermelon we were frequently served.

I saved my real pizza eating for Rome because the pizza in Assisi was more American style with a thick crust. I love truly thin crispy crust and pizza Diavola, with spicy salami and cheese, is my absolute favorite. I ate at least 5 pizza diavolas during my 7 days in Rome and tried a few other pizzas as well. I also got pasta and sandwiches.

IMG_6252

One odd thing I noticed now that I was paying for my own meals in Paris and Italy is how insanely expensive salads usually are! I mostly ate carbs and protein because a salad menu could start at 15€! I definitely will be enjoying lots of greenery over the next few days because I’ve missed my leafy greens.

If you can buy, store, and make your own sandwiches, meals, etc with fresh local ingredients while traveling in Europe I highly recommend it! It’s not only cheaper but you’re eating like the locals rather than possibly getting trapped at a touristy restaurant.

Sorry, but not really, I just rambled about my eating for the past month – but for me it was way out of the norm, delicious, and something I wanted to share!

Post coming soon about some running updates!

Mileage – probably a gym day, not sure yet!

QOD – Eating is not merely a material pleasure. Eating well gives a spectacular joy to life and contributes immensely to goodwill and happy companionship. It is of great importance to the morale.

Leave a Reply

