Airport Post!

Hello from one of my new favorite cities – Copenhagen!!!

I had never been dying to go to Denmark, my favorite Scandinavian country being Finland, but since I had such a long layover I had to go out and explore. It took a 13 minute metro ride and a turn out of the metro station for me to fall in love with the city.

I love being near the water, smelling the water, feeling the wind – so a canal city like Copenhagen is my kind of place. My favorite big city in Italy is Venice! The weather was chilly so I was glad I wore my sneakers, jeans and jacket and I stashed the rest of my stuff in a storage locker at the airport.

I first visited Nyhavn where Hans Christian Anderson, the fairy tale author, lived in several building that still remain and are well marked. Lining the canal are brightly colored historic buildings filled with shops and restaurants that weren’t open since I got there at 6am.

20140722-094543-35143411.jpg

Then I walked around for the next 3 hours, mostly along the water but into some other squares as well. I saw the Royal Danish Theatre, the amazing new contemporary opera house, several gorgeous parks filled with fountains and statues, AND The Little Mermaid.

20140722-094415-35055778.jpg

The Little Mermaid was my favorite Disney film growing up, but even after I’d read the H.C. Anderson original fairy tale I still loved the story so I was a woman on a mission to find the statue today.

I really enjoyed my brief time in Denmark and I learned that in the beginning of July Copenhagen has an amazing jazz festival and at the end of the month an opera festival – so here’s hoping that I will be back!!

I’m hoping to do a FOOD post from my trip soon – maybe start writing. before my flight if I get ambitious! But next time I post I’ll be back in the USA!!!

Mileage – stretching awkwardly in the airport, sitting on an airplane rest, and vacation workout challenge a home

QOD – A good traveler has no fixed plans, and is not intent on arriving.

2 thoughts on “Airport Post!

  1. I’ve always wanted to visit Denmark. One of the happiest countries in the world and the country takes great care of its citizens in a variety of ways as we’ll. sounds like a great layover

Leave a Reply

