Last Day in Assisi! Plus running in the rain.

Today is my last day in Assisi before I make my way to Roma!!! I’m sad to be leaving such a beautiful town with some of the kindest people – we’ve met many shop owners, restaurant employees, and religious men/women who are generous, welcoming, friendly, and helpful.

The weather hasn’t been the kindest to us the past few days but I’ve kept on running around the city and added a path outside the city towards the surrounding neighborhoods. Today the fog was crazy and yesterday was my day off.

20140715-163404-59644627.jpg

But on Sunday I got rained on and when the rain was coming down hardest an elderly Italian gentleman stumbled upon me and offered to share his umbrella. I accepted and then went on my way when the rain lightened up. It was actually really therapeutic to run through the mountains with the light rain coming down.

Yesterday we went to the gorgeous Lake Trasimeno and took the ferry to the Islo Maggiore, where we wandered the beach, had some delicious pizza, and ate gelato on a pier before a storm came and rained out the rest of the afternoon.

20140715-163609-59769604.jpg

Tonight I’m page turning for the pianist during the final opera performance and then my group of friends is celebrating the end of the festival!

While I’m sad to be leaving I definitely plan on doing the festival again and I’m so looking forward to Rome!!!

Mileage – 5 miles, workout challenge

QOD – Run in the rain.

20140715-164045-60045798.jpg

20140715-164045-60045949.jpg

Leave a Reply

