Running and Music in Assisi!

Assisi is a beautiful city, full of religious history, tucked in the mountains of Italy. Since the town is essentially built into the side of a mountain the city is incredibly hilly and full of steep stairs.
Running here is definitely the COMPLETE opposite of my super flat runs in Texas but I’m sure running here for 2 weeks will definitely help with my speed when I get back to the flat land haha!

My first two runs I ran several out and backs on the long main roads down to San Francesco and back to the Piazza Communale near my hotel.

But the past 3 runs I’ve been using a route one of the fellow musicians discovered when they stalked followed a local runner. It’s a gorgeous 3 mile loop around the upper exterior of the city on some mountain roads and comes back into the city at San Francesco. I ran it twice for my long run 2 days and just a single loop yesterday plus alternating walking and running up the final hill/part of a mile to give my legs a “recovery” day.

20140706-093454-34494984.jpg

Today I cranked the mileage back up just a bit to meet my 20 miles per week goal.

Musically I’m having an AMAZING experience!

I’ve been working on solo and chamber works, rehearsing with the choir to sing in a Masses during our time here, and practicing for the opera pit. It’s been so much fun making music with old and new friends and realizing how small the music world truly is!

20140706-093549-34549972.jpg

It’s also pretty cool staying in a hotel and hearing all the music coming from everyone’s bedrooms – like being back in the practice rooms really!

I’m already hoping to find another year to come back and enjoy this amazing festival. I’ve fallen in love with Assisi!

Mileage – 4.85miles, workout challenge, yoga

QOD – “There is an itch in runners.”

20140706-094154-34914242.jpg

20140706-095151-35511641.jpg

Leave a Reply

