Running Hills of Montmartre!

Montmartre is my favorite place in Paris, I love Sacré-Coeur and the winding streets around the church! But the best part to me is probably the hills and how even on rainy dreary days you can look over the whole city without climbing a single tower and the rest of the city can always see the white dome of Sacré-Coeur in the distance.

20140630-102247-37367778.jpg

That also means it can be brutal to run there. First of all the cobblestone streets take some getting used to for your ankles. I did 2 runs in Montmartre after my runs in the suburbs and at the other park. The first run was along the main road which takes you past the Moulin Rouge, through the famous red light district (which is quite empty at 7:30am) and to the famous Montmartre cemetery where many famous artists, musicians, and writers are buried. This run only had some gentle inclines.

My hard run was from my hostel at the very bottom of the mountain hill up to the church. Then I ran up and down the staircases that go straight up to the church 3 times before heading back down. They are rough but there were several other people doing a similar run as mine and we kept passing one another on the stairs.

20140630-102826-37706191.jpg

I managed to run 20 miles in Paris so I’m hoping I can maintain that kind of mileage the rest of the trip!

Now I’m on the train headed to Rome to meet up with my group to then venture to Assisi where I will be playing a ton of music for 2 weeks!

Looking forward to music and more running in the hill country of Italia! And gelato, pizza, past, and vino of course!

Mileage – run rest day & workout challenge

QOD – BONGIORNO (in Brad Pitt’s Inglorious Bastard’s accent hahaha)

Leave a Reply

