Vacation and Travel Running & Fitness

After spending 4 great days in Las Vegas with my family I only have 5 days at home before I’m on a plane across the Atlantic for my European adventure! 

While my trip to Europe contains quite a bit of “work” musical awesomeness – performing in a music festival – and some scouting for post-grad opportunities I’m also looking forward to seeing friends and vacationing. For someone like me who doesn’t sit still very well fitness has started playing a role in my trips. When hiking, rafting, and other adventures were packed into family vacations for years I grew accustomed to seeing the world and new places on foot. 

On other shorter trips to more urban areas I’ve just hopped down to the hotel gym to get a quick workout in, but staying in hostels, ancient towns, and friends’ places on this trip doesn’t give me that opportunity. So I’ve decided to incorporate running into my routine as a way to see different parts of the city and feel more immersed in the culture. As I’ll be starting marathon prep not long after I get back, this is also a good time to get myself off the elliptical and onto a variety of surfaces running regularly. Plus I’ll be in some very hilly places so the hills will be good for my speed. My goal is to run a little more than most people on vacation probably – 20 miles a week – but since I will be in one place for a longer period of time I think this is reasonable. 

How does one keep up running on vacation? Here’s a great article from Runner’s World on just that! 

I also researched running tours in major cities such as Paris and Rome – which you can find here! However they were way out of my budget!

Since I don’t totally want to neglect the rest of my body I also built my own 30 day challenge for upper body and core strength! I blended several challenges into one to personalize a quick 15-20 min post run workout that will keep me doing something even on the days that moving from one city to the next may get in the way of a longer run. I’ve included a downloadable PDF for your own summer vacation workout regimes!
photo
Vacation Fitness Challenge PDF

Mileage – 4 miles, Yoga for Runners 

QOD – I travel not to go anywhere, but to go. I travel for travel’s sake. The great affair is to move.

Image

One thought on “Vacation and Travel Running & Fitness

  1. Pingback: Vacation and Travel Running & Fitness

Leave a Reply

