Vegas and Hiking in Red Rock Canyon!

Greetings from Las Vegas! I’m on a long weekend vacation with my family belatedly celebrating my brother’s 21st birthday and Father’s Day of course! While we’re certainly enjoys the drinks, dining, and gambling in Vegas we also planned a trip out to Red Rock Canyon for a hike.

My family is an active family, as I’ve shared before, but I’ve never talked much about our hiking adventures when I was younger. We really loved mountainous vacation destinations and always took advantage of the hiking available to us. We’ve hiked in the Grand Canyon, Grand Tetons, Yellowstone, Yosemite, Adirondacks, Appalachians, and the Canadian Laurentians!

We started traveling abroad several years ago and our last hiking vacation was cancelled due to injuries so we haven’t hiked as a family for awhile so this hike was a must-do for us!

It was so much fun!!! We only hiked 2.8 miles round trip, but there was a fair amount of rock scrambling on our trail. But our view at the end was worth it!

Since I went for a long run on Friday and I knew I’d be putting my legs to work later yesterday I woke up early thanks to the time difference and got in 45 min on the elliptical and some upper body weights before the hike. Today I woke up early again and hopped on the dreadmill treadmill for a 5k with a negative split goal. I put some walking on either end and did some more arm weights since I’ve been neglecting my poor arms recently.

Time to go clean up for a night out on the town!

Mileage – 3.1, walk, weights

QOD – What happens in Vegas, stays in Vegas.

20140615-155339-57219877.jpg

20140615-155337-57217990.jpg

20140615-155340-57220606.jpg

Leave a Reply

