Virginia Wine Country Half Race Review (Finally!)

Saturday May 31st, I ran the Virginia Wine Country Half with several wonderful women!!! The race is part of the Destination Races series and seemed like a very cool concept. The race itself is a half marathon with no other distances offered. At the end of the race there is a wine tasting with the local vineyards in the area you are running. They have other races in places such as Oregon, Napa, and Santa Barbara. 

My first thought about the race was EXPENSIVE. However with a wine tasting at the finish I figured it was worth it – until I found out you have to pay an extra $20 for a glass and the wine tasting on top of the original race fee. I personally didn’t think the race fee was worth it, the water stations weren’t that great, the wine wasn’t included, and the goodie bag wasn’t great either. 

That being said, I did enjoy parts of the race. The race course itself was beautiful but definitely more dirt and gravel roads than I was lead to believe on the website. The tree coverage made the sun much more bearable and despite some course crowding initially and when the course narrowed, I didn’t think the number of participants allowed to race was too high. I didn’t expect to run a PR but I did and that was pretty exciting! I tried to hold myself back initially and I think that helped a lot towards the middle of the race. 

The wine tasting was unorganized unfortunately and we waited in long lines and only ended up going to 3-4 out of the 16 vineyards booths because we were hungry, hot, and exhausted. 

I probably wouldn’t run this race again just because of the value, but I don’t regret running it at least once! 

Image

I’ve been working like a crazy person and performing and practicing this past week so I’ll post more soon. Also I’ve suspended my Sunday Grubday posts until I return to Texas and will actually be cooking. Instead I’ll probably be posting pictures of the food I’m trying and the runs I’m going on when I’m off making music in Paris and Italy! I’ve already been scouting running routes in Paris and Assisi for my trip! 

Mileage – 4 mile run, 2.75 mile walk with mama, Yoga for Runners 

QOD – Run for wine, not for time! 

Image

Image

Leave a Reply

