100 mile month check in!

I posted at the beginning of May that my goal was to run 100 miles this month, currently if I stay right on track from here on out I’ll hit about 98 miles. I’m probably going to tack on a few extra miles towards the end of this week to make sure I get to 100 but I don’t want to burn myself out before my half marathon next Saturday! 

I originally scheduled 120 miles for this month, knowing that things would happen and that number would give me wiggle room. Sure enough, I got that nasty cold and instantly lost 13 miles that weekend. A few late nights and super early mornings this weekend put me back another 4 miles, and there is another day that I scratched off at the very beginning of May but I don’t remember why. All totaled I lost 22 miles to life and I think it taught me a valuable lesson. 

When I under schedule my running or don’t write down a plan at all and life gets in the way, I’m really not running as much as I should be/want to be running. I really need to make sure to push myself to have the highest mileage goals. I finally feel like my body has forgotten my marathon enough to sign up for #2 and I feel confident I’m much better prepared this time around.

Since the Marine Corps Marathon in 2011 I have run 3 half marathons (and my 4th is in 10 days!), a 10 miler, a Tough Mudder, a 10k, and quite a few 5k or shorter races. I had only run one 5k before my marathon, and while I trained for 7 months, my body still wasn’t quite ready. Now I think I am. So my 5th half and 2nd full will be coming up in the fall/winter and I’m hoping that upping my mileage and adding a variety of training will help me with distance speed.

I’ve already planned on getting in about 70 miles in June before I leave for Europe and hopefully getting in at least 15-20 miles while I am in Paris for the remainder of June. I want to keep the consistency up as I head into marathon training at the end of July. 

Mileage – 3.25 miles, yoga, foam roll 

QOD -The greater danger for most of us lies not in setting our aim too high and falling short; but in setting our aim too low, and achieving our mark.

Image

Image

Leave a Reply

