Monday Grubday! Mini Apple Pies, Simple Salad, and Clean Tomato Soup

Happy Monday! I love Mondays when I don’t have any classes! It’s slowly works me into the week rather than feeling like I ran into a brick wall and that wonderful thing called a weekend is over.  

Today I have 3 great recipes to share with you! Unfortunately there aren’t any photos…because I accidentally deleted them. Bummer. 

The first is the delicious little desserts I made for Easter. We had Easter dinner with some great friends who made delicious pork, green bean casserole, and sweet potatoes. We brought salad and dessert. I had Ben look through my sweets Pintrest board with me to choose and he loves pie so I had a guess what he would pick – individual apple pies. I got this recipe from Little Bit Funky and halved it since there were only 4 of us. Everyone really enjoyed them especially because I made half of the pies without cinnamon by mixing all the ingredients with the apples EXCEPT the cinnamon first then divided the ingredients into 2 bowls and added the cinnamon to one. 

Number 2 is the seriously simple salad and balsamic dressing that I made as a side. The salad was 1 container spring mix, 1 cup pecan halves, 1/3 cup blue cheese tossed together. The dressing is only marginally more complex:
Balsamic Dressing (all approximate measurements, make to your taste)
2 tbsp Extra Virgin Olive Oil
2 tbsp Balsamic Vinegar 
1 tbsp dijon mustard
1 tsp lemon juice
1/2 tsp sugar  
1/4 tsp Nature’s seasoning 
Combine for deliciousness 

Finally a new-ish tomato soup recipe. This is a take off of a previous tomato soup recipe that I loved but lightened up just a little bit (made it clean!) and with all FRESH ingredients. 

Ingredients 
15 roma tomatoes (diced) 
5 cloves garlic (minced)
1 handful fresh basil leaves (minced) 
1/3 cup plain 0% fat greek yogurt (room temperature) 
Salt to taste 

Directions 
1) Heath diced tomatoes, garlic, and basil over medium high heat in large sauce pan. When it begins to boil, lower to a simmer and cover. Cook for 10-12 minutes. 
2) Blend with an immersion blender or blend portions of the soup at a time in a blender. Return to original pan. 
3) Mix in greek yogurt, stir a lot to really get it blended in. 
4) Enjoy! 

Ben ate this with chips and a big dollop of queso on top and really enjoyed it. It’s super quick and pretty easy and I just love how the flavors come out after being cooked together. 

Mileage – 4.15 miles, Yoga for Runners, foam roller/tennis ball 

QOD – Commit to be fit. 

Image

Image

Leave a Reply

