Pressed Juicery Cleanse Recap!

Over the past 5 days I’ve been pre-cleansing, cleansing, and post-cleansing with Pressed Juicery‘s 1-day Cleanse 2. Overall I have to say I absolutely loved it. The cleanse itself was on Wednesday and I spent the 3 days before and the 2 days after prepping for and coming out of the cleanse according to their instructions. I was vegetarian from Friday to Friday only eating fish for the first time in that week last night for dinner. I ate quite a bit of broth throughout the week and some other juices for meals.

Cutting caffeine cold turkey was probably the hardest part. I normally drink two mugs of green tea every morning so I tried to wean myself off by only drinking 1 cup of green tea on Friday and Saturday. Since last Sunday I haven’t had a single drop of tea with caffeine and I’ve felt great every day so far. I also cut alcohol which isn’t hard for me on weekdays but sometimes on the weekends it’s more difficult when my friends and I go out. Last night I had a sip to sample 2 of Ben’s beers but I didn’t get anything for myself which is huge for me at a bar because if I don’t want to drink I will just stay in – I don’t stand up well to peer pressure. 

The juices for the cleanse on Wednesday were SO delicious. I really loved my Root 3 juice with the beet and ginger and the Citrus 2. I have to say I’ve always been a little scared of green juices because despite flavors that sound good I was never sure about the texture but all of the ones I had were delicious. I loved the apple and cucumber hints in the green juices. The almond vanilla drink was really good but I wish I had stuck it in the freezer for a few minutes to thicken it up perhaps because it was a little thin after traveling around all evening in an ice packed lunchbox. My least favorite things were the aloe and chlorophyll waters – just a tinge of funny after taste to the water. 

ImageImage

I was never tired and almost was less hungry than I usually am midday after orchestra rehearsal. I picked a great day to do the cleanse because I was really busy and juices are the easiest meals out there. Grab, drink, go. I would definitely try the 3 day cleanse if I had the money to do so. I only did my Yoga for Runner’s video the day of my cleanse for time and because I didn’t want to push my body too hard the first time I was cleansing and it was fine for me. 

Speaking of the price – I personally thought it was a great deal because shipping was included. For 72 dollars for the 1 day I received 6 juices which is a little more than $10 a bottle. I added the 2 waters for another $7. However when the cost of shipping a fairly heavy refrigerated box immediately over night is included in the $79 I thought it was a pretty good deal. Theoretically you could do it on your own cheaper, however you have to own a juicer (which despite my considerings I do not) and you have to have the time to make all the juices and clean the juicer a million times. 

I didn’t do the cleanse for weight loss but for those who are curious I lost 2.2 lbs the day of the cleanse, but by this morning I’ve gained 1.4lbs – it is definitely primarily water weight for a 1 or 3 day cleanse. 

Mileage – 7miles, Yoga for Runners 

QOD – We run, not because we think it is doing us good, but because we enjoy it and cannot help ourselves…The more restricted our society and work become, the more necessary it will be to find some outlet for this craving for freedom. No one can say, ‘You must not run faster than this, or jump higher than that.’ The human spirit is indomitable.

Image

Image

Leave a Reply

