The price of fitness…

A few posts ago I talked about the expense of running, and for awhile I’ve purposely remained blissfully ignorant of the price I paid every month for CrossFit. CrossFit is a workout style I love; it forces me to get up in the morning, I’ve found I can do things I never even considered, and it was fun. Unfortunately my current contract expires on Friday and renewing my contract would mean renewing at new prices. The price before was already steep for me (I’m not saying they are super expensive, I’m just really poor) since I basically live off of my grad student stipend. I never count on gig money for basic living expenses because that money isn’t a guarantee every month and since I had a signed contract, CrossFit was budgeted as a basic living expense. But as I crunched the numbers on the new price I knew it wasn’t smart to sign a new contract. So right now I’m pretty sad. 

Today was my 2nd to last workout and clearly the fates wanted a good laugh and picked 3 of my least favorite/weakest exercises. Power snatches, toes to bar (or knees to elbows for me), and burpees – actually bar facing/jump over burpees. I KNOW that is pretty accurate:
Image

But I still hate dislike burpees, which obviously means that when I work out on my own I need to keep doing them. 

However, I’m trying to find the good in this. One of the great results is that I can move around my workouts in my schedule more freely. Another also forces me to get back into creating my own routines (and maybe sharing them with you all!). I’m definitely glad I can follow the workouts of my favorite CF gyms and have all the workouts I’ve been saving for/sharing on fitness Friday. Following other fitness bloggers is an amazing thing. 

Be on the recipe lookout!!! 
Tomorrow night Ben and I are going to have dinner with friends and they asked if we would bring dessert. Ben has been talking an awful lot lately about my great-grandmother’s chocolate cake recipe that I make for him so I think I’m going to make that. But I’m going to hunt for a new, healthier frosting/topping that doesn’t negate the healthy components of the cake itself. I don’t even like cake normally (especially chocolate cake I know I’m a terrible female) but I LOVE this cake.  I will be sharing BOTH of those recipes tomorrow – BE READY. SO DELICIOUS. 

Mileage – CrossFit, yoga for runner’s video

QOD – It is health that is real wealth, not pieces of gold or silver. 

Image

Image

Leave a Reply

