Sunday Grubday…on Monday (Whoops!) with a Recipe!

On Saturday, Ben and I had a little treat and I bought salmon fillets for dinner and cooked them in my absolute favorite way – FOIL PACKETS. These savory fillets are so good and I had to share! 

Salmon and Asparagus Packets!
Ingredients 
2 salmon fillets 
1 lb asparagus 
1 lemon 
1 tbsp butter 
1 tsp Herbs de Provence 
2 tsp Extra Virgin Olive Oil + extra for coating foil
2 tsp white wine 
2 tsp capers 
salt and black pepper to taste 
Aluminum Foil 

Directions
  1. Preheat the oven to 450 degrees and set out 3 foil sheets (approximately 1 sq foot each)
  2. Rub a little olive oil (or non-stick spray) on each of the sheets. 
  3. Place the salmon fillets on 2 of the sheets and the asparagus on the 3rd. 
  4. Drizzle the asparagus with 1 tsp of Olive Oil and season with salt and black pepper to taste. 
  5. Cut the lemon in half and two thin slices from the middle, squeeze the outer lemon parts over the salmon fillets. 
  6. Put 1/2 tbsp of butter on the center of each of the fillets and top with a slice of lemon.
    Image
  7. Top each of the salmon fillets with half each of the remaining ingredients (1 tsp white wine, 1/2 tsp Herbs de Provence, 1 tsp of capers) and then salt to taste. 
  8. Fold the 3 foil sheets up into packets. Make sure the sides are folded up and wrapped in so nothing drips in the oven. 
    Image
  9. Place all 3 packets on the center rack of the oven and cook the salmon for 15 minutes and the asparagus for 15 – 20 depending on the texture you prefer.  
If you’d like serve with bread, pasta, rice or some other starch, the sauce tastes amazing on anything! And I’d definitely recommend a glass of wine 😉 This is one of my favorite meals to make for a weekend night especially because it doesn’t dirty any dishes!!!
Image
 
Two meals I made today were a delicious Tex-Mex ground turkey salad and an amazing soup from my Giada cookbook with ground turkey, kale, carrots, and brown rice. I CANNOT WAIT to try this tomorrow! It is my lunch everyday this week! 
Image
 
Today was BRUTAL in CrossFit mostly because it was hot outside today… in January… and we ran. I don’t mind the running at all. We did a lot of shoulder to overhead or ground to overhead which always bothers my wrists. And in general it kicks my ass. My arms are the weakest part of my body and these days always crush me. I am doing some serious upper body stretching tonight because I have A LOT of bass playing to do tomorrow. 
 
Mileage – CrossFit, yoga 
 
QOD – You are what you eat. 
Leave a Reply

