2014 Goals! (Resolutions are so dramatic!)

I’m not one for New Year’s Resolutions…for those of you that do them – GREAT! But since my world still revolves around school, I tend to look at the start of each new semester as an opportunity to revamp my habits. This semester I feel like I’m already going in strong, so I’m not changing too much – although I am considering getting a juicer (thoughts anyone?)! I’m actually probably going to meal plan my first 3 or 4 weeks of school before I even get on the plane back to Texas because I have a gig, mini tour, group recital, and 2 major concerts all within the first 2.5 weeks of classes and another extended tour in February. Oh, and I’m taking 2 more credits than last semester while preparing my thesis prospectus and 2nd recital. I just keep telling myself I’ll make it out alive. 

Despite all the craziness I do like to set goals to accomplish each year. Goals don’t necessitate immediate change, or even require changing really. They are just new things to reach for. I set both musical goals and fitness goals along with a few some financial goals too.  

FITNESS
My running goal for 2014 is to run: 

775 miles!

According to my Nike+ I ran 374 miles at an average distance of 3.5 miles and average pace of 10:18 in 2012. In 2013 I ran 563 miles at an average distance of 3.9 miles and average pace of 9:47. So I’m just aiming to continue the pattern and up my mileage to 775 miles with an average distance of 4.5 miles. My average pace goal is going to be probably 9:20, because my other goal is to run 3 half marathons and 2 full marathons (plus other races of course). I think my marathon pace will sit closer to a 9:40 (to sneak below 4:15:00) while I’d love to get my half marathon pace between 9:00 and 9:15 to get a sub 2:00:00 half time eventually! 

My non-running fitness goals mostly pertain to CrossFit. I’d like to be able to do 5 handstand push-ups. I have to re-evaluate some of the others, but that’s for certain. Currently I can only hold handstands (about 45 seconds – 1 minute) so I’d really like to be able to move towards the push-up part. Right now when I try I can barely bend my elbows, and when I do bend them, I usually lose my balance. 

MUSIC
My musical goals for this year are to perform 3 recitals; while two recitals are required for my Master’s, I’d like to give another recital in Maryland where more of my family and friends can see me perform since I haven’t performed on the east coast in almost 2 years. I also have a goal to be accepted to a minimum of 3 music festivals/camps for this summer and be able to finance attending them on my own (this is more difficult than it may seem because several I am auditioning for require flying to Europe).

I have a few other musical goals but sharing details of my bass playing/practicing is very difficult for me sometimes as I see it as a very sacred and personal relationship. I know that sounds weird but music is where I store, release, and experience many of my emotions and it can be hard to share those things with others – I’ve gotten better, but it is still very intimate for me. 

Do you have any goals?!
Of course I’ll recommend running a half or full marathon to anyone because those experiences changed my life – and I even have a few friends who are registered for their first half marathons this year already (you go girls!). And if you so choose to do that (everyone should HERE’S WHY) here are 2 great training resources: 

1) Hal Higdon Training Programs – HERE 
2) 16 week Marathon Training Program – HERE 

Everything in the article about 26.2 reasons to run a marathon is true. That experience changed my outlook on life and despite injuring myself in the race I wouldn’t have traded it for anything (plus it means my 2nd marathon and probably even my 3rd will most definitely be PRs haha!) 

Mileage – Treadmill interval workout, squat cycle, pull-up work, foam roller 

QOD – What you get by achieving your goals is not as important as what you become by achieving your goals.
Image

Image

 

Image

Leave a Reply

