Surfin’ Snowman 2 Mile Race Recap!

On Saturday afternoon I ran the Surfin’ Snowman 2 mile race in Bethany Beach with my dad and my brother! The weather was wonderful. The event also had a 5 mile race (which was a loop course) and it was the first year the race has happened! The best part about the race may have been that the money raised went to Justin’s House (which is a house where child cancer patients and their families can stay on vacation) and the Bethany Volunteer Fire Company.

Image

 

My dad, brother, and I all won our age groups. My brother came in 3rd in the race; my dad and I finished 16 and 15 overall – my dad always lets me beat him, even if he was ahead of me during the race haha. My dad placed 3rd in the Men’s Masters and I finished 5th for the Women. The race was very well attended, especially for a first year. There were around 250 finishers in the 2 mile and another 400 or so running the 5 mile. Dad, Pete, and I will be doing the 5 miler next year and mom says she will be doing the 2 miler. 

The view from the pre-race meeting place:
Image

My Thoughts
– I liked the race course for the most part, but the end was actually not at 2 miles and that caused some confusion. 
– Registration shouldn’t be allowed on race day OR make the pick time longer, the race started over 15 minutes late. 
– The post race food was AMAZING and it was really great having the DJ at the start and finish. 
– The course was very well marked and their were tons of volunteers! 

Overall it was a great race and supports great causes and we can’t wait to do it again next year! 

Bethany at sunset
Image

Today I got a good workout it at the gym after I worked at 6am-10am shift and it was a good way to relieve stress from a rough work shift. 

Mileage  – Bench press, kettle bells, elliptical 

QOD – Insanity runs in my family. It practically gallops. 

 

Leave a Reply

