Huntsville Half Race Recap!!!!

Yesterday I ran the Seven Hills Running Club Huntsville Half at Sam Houston State University! I ran the race in 2:14:24 which is a PERSONAL RECORD! It is only my second half marathon so I’m thrilled to have shaved off over 9 minutes. 

The race course was definitely hilly for Texas – and I hadn’t run hills since I left Maryland OOPS – but the hills weaved their way through neighborhoods, past the oldest penitentiary in Texas, and around the campus of Sam Houston State. The course was a loop, which is a love/hate relationship for me, the loop is nice because you can prepare for what is coming but it also can get a little monotonous. Thankfully we only did the loop twice.  As a lover of fall and cold running, I could not have asked for more perfect weather. The rain finished long before the race started and the temps stayed around the comfy upper 50’s. 

I was only 1 minute behind schedule to achieve my goal of sub 2:10:00 at the halfway mark, but the hills and a right calf cramp had me struggling to push for the negative split in the last 2 miles. I knew I could still run a sub 2:15:00 and a PR and so I just aimed for that. Being so close this race means the sub 2:10:00 is definitely achievable during my next half. 

UP NEXT. Training for the Waco Marathon in January! 

No major injuries this race HOORAY!!! However, I am definitely sore in my left hip flexor and have a slightly limited range of motion, but since it is continually feeling better I’m not concerned that it is anything major. I’ll monitor it this week which is a big recovery week for me, especially since my recital is on Friday! And this is the yoga pose goal for this week since I will be doing a lot of yoga this week. I already have a massage scheduled tomorrow so I’m very excited for that. 

I will post pictures when I have them uploaded!! 

Mileage – Yoga, foam roller, hot bath 

QOD – Arriving at one goal is the starting point to another. 

Image

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

