Fat Days….Everybody Has Them…Right? (Plus a chicken soup recipe and funny site!)

When I found this gem of a photo I had to save it because I knew the day would come when I would feel this way: 
Image

Sunday and Monday I felt like serious cans of biscuits…. I felt 10lbs heavier. But the funny thing is that when I stepped on the scale I’d only “gained” 2 lbs AKA some water weight. After a great 5 mile run last night and a good CrossFit workout this morning, I feel much less like a busted can of biscuits. 

With the musical, my recital, assistantship, and my first exam in my class looming and occurring all at the same time it’s been a battle to keep ALL the good habits I started the semester with. But I just keep pushing and meal planning (I haven’t missed a week yet!) and training. I’ve kept off almost all the weight I lost in August and September and I have to keep reminding myself that since I’m really only looking at 7-10lbs that I want to lose (part of my summer 2012 regain), it’s going to be very slow going and I’ve still come a very long way from where I started in March of 2010. Some days I have to remind myself of this: 

Image

 

 

I found this hilarious post today on FitSugar that talks about What People Worry About When Exercising. The clips are hilarious and everyone is SO true! 

My lunch for this week is Chicken and Rice Soup. I keep feeling this nagging possibility of a cold and I’m fighting it hard core so why not eat the best cold recipe there is everyday?! 

Chicken and Rice Soup (crockpot!) 

2 lbs raw Chicken Breast/Tenderloin, cut into 1 inch chunks 
4 cups Chicken Stock 
2 cups Water 
2 Carrots, chopped 
3 stalks Celery, chopped 
1 handful of Fresh Parsley, chopped 
1/2 cup Rice, uncooked 
1 teaspoon Salt
1 teaspoon Seasoning Salt 
1/2 teaspoon Majoram 
Ground Pepper to taste 

Throw all the ingredients in a crockpot cook on low for 8 hours! The flavors are so much better than the last soup I made! My rice came out little mushy so I would either throw it in a half hour before serving or cooking it separately and then just mixing it in. Makes roughly 5 servings with 330 calories per serving. 

TODAY I’M GETTING A MASSAGE! I swear the woman who I go to works wonders. I had a long intense massage about 2 weeks ago and I started feeling the knots again yesterday so I figured I’d go in for a shorter “tune-up” massage this week and again the week of my recital. 

Mileage – CrossFit, Yoga 

QOD -Happiness is not something ready made. It comes from your own actions.

Ironic and wonderful! 
Image

Leave a Reply

