Sunday Grubday

For the next two weeks I will be playing in the pit orchestra for Legally Blonde (the musical)!  I am soooo excited to be able to play this show – mostly because I love the music, but also I think it will be a great chop builder for my electric bass playing! However, with super long tech rehearsals the next 3 nights and then 11 nights of shows with only 1 night break, my free time is going to be very limited  non-existent. So I’ve meal planned the hell out of this week and next to make sure I don’t eat crappy when I need to be on my physical A-game and make sure I actually have food to eat. 

For breakfast I made my usual baked eggs, but rather than oatmeal or pancakes, this week I went for muffins – still made with oats of course. I made the Spokane Dinner Club’s Pumpkin Oat n’ Honey Muffins. I’m not the biggest fan of honey but as the batter came together the spices and pumpkin seemed to mask the overt sweetness. Mine did not look anything like the website photo, my oats weren’t ground finely enough for that. But they smell delicious and I made enough to freeze 6 for next week’s breakfast as well! 

For lunches I LOVED whipping up the easy one-pot chicken quinoa soup from Runner’s World. I’ve made this soup before without the mushrooms and using couscous instead of quinoa. It smelled delicious and I’m looking forward to eating this everyday. Sidenote: I always use chicken breast instead of chicken thighs in any recipe, just personal preference. 

For dinner I will be having salsa black bean chicken on top of a salad with spicy lime dressing. This recipe is insanely easy! 
Ingredients 
2 chicken breasts 
1.5 cups chunky hot salsa 
1 can rinsed, drained black beans 
(1 bag frozen corn optional) 
Directions 
Put all ingredients in a crockpot. Cook on high 4 hours or low for 8 hours. (EASY RIGHT?!) 

I’m hoping that I won’t end up being out too late with all the rehearsals and shows because I NEED to get my workouts in this week (11 mile run on Saturday morning too!) and I have a ton of music to learn for my recital which is in 33 days!!! 

The weather has been SOOO gorgeous this weekend. I’m sure we will return to the heat that I love  struggle to love, but it was amazing to have both of my runs this weekend be in upper 60’s weather. 

Mileage – 3.3 miles, yoga 

QOD – To lengthen your life, shorten your meals. (Not sure if every culture would agree with this haha) 

Image

 

 

foodmonster

Leave a Reply

