Exciting Musical News! (And an epic running fail)

Let me tell the epic fail first! Today at CrossFit we were running sprints, which involved going off a curb, crossing the street, and going back up. I’m booking it, almost as fast as I can amongst a small cluster of individuals, and in my efforts to find space I miss the sidewalk ending and face-plant into the middle of the road. LUCKILY,  I did not injure my face at all, however I landed hard on my hands and knees. Oh and then I finished the last 2 sprints with my class. So my knees I could care less about okay I care a little bit about my knees… but my hands are VERY important. Thankfully my left hand had barely a scratch and my right hand has a few scrapes and bruising but nothing that affected my bass playing. 

This brings me to part 1 of my exciting news. I LOVED my tone out of my instrument today – and not just the tone of someone else playing it, but MY tone. I’ve been struggling to find the sound I want for a long time, and I think after a mini-lesson on Friday and a lesson today I had some sort-of breakthrough. I’m sure making the sound consistent, especially when the music is difficult, will take some time. But it wasn’t just once during my lesson, I played….beautifully…for most of my lesson. It was an amazing step in the right direction…

AND THEN I received my official acceptance to be a dual Master’s student in Performance and Music History. I am so relieved to have that acceptance in writing and begin my journey towards recitals, a thesis, and 2 degrees that will give me the start on a career path in music. I’m so glad all my hard work has paid off. I was already excited about my paper for my American Music seminar and now I’m just over the moon to be doing it from the perspective of part of my degree program – I’m writing about Dizzy Gillespie, Stan Getz, and the absorption of national Latin American rhythms into United States jazz music. I’m not joking, talking about this topic gets me crazy excited!

So overall I think today was a winning day….and my busted up knees just give my knee caps a little more individuality! 

Have any of you ever had a running or work out fail like mine?! Share them in the comments! 

Mileage – CrossFit, ice, stretching, foam roller 

QOD – It is a rough road that leads to the heights of greatness.

Image

 

Image

 

Image

Leave a Reply

