Knee Pain

The knee pain in my left knee that I mentioned the other day is mostly gone. I’ve been icing, foam rolling, and generally taking it easy. I’ve avoided taking an anti-inflammatory because I feel like I tend to do too much when I can’t feel the pain. Plus, I want to know when it feels better unadulterated by medication.

My long run today obviously didn’t happen because of my knee but I think I’m going to try for my recovery run tomorrow and knock back my long run mileage 1 or 2 miles next week.

This injury isn’t the end of the world though, especially since I’m probably switching fall half marathons. I had to plan on giving my recital the same weekend as the Houston half, so unfortunately I had to find another race. I THINK I’m going to do the Dallas running club half the following weekend, worked out a little too perfectly! However I’m still determined to finally go to Houston this fall to see a bunch of friends and check out the city.

Today is JMU’s and Baylor’s first GAMEDAYS of the season!!!! So excited to be tailgating and going to the game tonight – but also really sad I’m missing every JMU game this season! GO DUKES! SIC ‘EM BEARS!

QOD – “I make my practices real hard because if a player is a quitter, I want him to quit in practice, not in a game.”

3 thoughts on “Knee Pain

  1. sarah – what sort of knee pain are you having specifically? i’ve started getting an irritation in my left knee, and i noticed it gets worse when i don’t give myself a rest day after every single run (ie: anything weight related that includes my legs). i’m going to see an orthopedic doctor on tuesday, but i was wondering what your experience with knee pain was like just to see if it was similar/what i’d be in for if i started increasing my distances.

    your blog is my fav! i’m super sad about not being at the jmu game toooo! 😦

    • My knee pain is at the top of my knee where the joint and femur meet, it really only hurts when I bend my knee and it makes me think its over-use. If your pain is on the sides or under your knee it could be your hips and ITB actually. Seeing an orthopedic dr is good and looking into shoes and having your stride filmed at a running speciality store could show why you’re having knee pain! I hope it gets better 😦 and thanks I’m so glad you read it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

