Texas Long Runs….

This morning was my first long run in Texas since my 10 mile race in mid-April. The weather has probably changed a little since then – but mostly I’m just not used to it anymore. Today are the seating auditions for orchestra and the ensemble placements for jazz – which means I still have a long day ahead of me. But I was monitoring the violin auditions this morning which gave me no option but to be up and out really early on my 9 miler today. Didn’t make much difference. 

IT WAS 78 DEGREES AT 6am IN PITCH BLACK DARKNESS. And my body is not used to it yet. I promise I will stop complaining about the weather tomorrow. I promise. It’s only my first week back and I’m acclimating very slowly. 

But I managed to accomplish my run only stopping to refill both of my 9oz my water bottles twice. My pace was a little slow and I felt weighed down wearing my fuel belt for the first time in at least a year, but I almost gave up a couple of times – though it wouldn’t have helped much because I ran an out-and-back – AND I KEPT GOING. I was proud of myself because the heat frequently defeats me more than anything else.

Image

I think what really helped me was getting a full 8 hours of sleep on Thursday night and about 7 last night – I was in bed by 9:30 but I just couldn’t fall asleep. I know my nights won’t be like that during the semester but I think more sleep might be key for my sanity and health. Plus, I can’t just go out with my friends, go to concerts, hang out, or etc just on Saturday nights! 

I did make a good meal last night to keep me going all through my run today – Jalepeno Pesto Zucchini “Fettuccine” with ground turkey. I don’t really believe in carb loading the night before a race. Pasta makes me happy, sleepy, and feel a bit like a stuffed animal and can just be too heavy for me before running. Since I’m trying to eat more of my carbs earlier in the day anyways I figured this would be a great alternative.

I was inspired by this raw recipe that I saw online but since I need protein and I had bought this Austin-local pesto I figured I’d make it my own way.
Image

 

 

ImageI’ve never eaten zucchini before last night and it was good! I ate my leftovers for lunch today – yuuummmmayyy! 

Mileage – 9 miles, yoga, foam roller 

QOD – Carpe diem, quam minimum credula postero! – Seize the day, put no trust in tomorrow!

One thought on “Texas Long Runs….

  1. Pingback: Recipe Recap and Meal Planning | racingbassist

Leave a Reply

