Protein Pancake Recipe!

I was up later last night doing some grocery shopping for kale and chia seeds with my friend Sean who is paleo – I had to laugh a little when the other people around us were buying pizza or ice cream and we’ve got kale, chia seeds, and protein powder. This morning is a cross-training day so I had no need to wake up before the sun for a run – thank goodness – and that health food trip had me all excited to try something different for breakfast. 

Today’s breakfast was a delicious pancake creation that was inspired by Peanut Butter Fingers blog – one of my favorite fitness bloggers who always has awesome workouts and recipes. But I have a habit of making recipes my own so after searching through her pancake recipes I came up with my own protein pancakes. 

Protein Pancakes!
Makes 6  small pancakes (2 servings)

Image

Ingredients
– 3/4 cup of oats 
– 1 6 oz container of plain non-fat greek yogurt 
– 1 packet (usually 30g) protein powder
    *I used strawberry but I bet vanilla would be delicious too! I also chose this brand
      because it had 26g of protein and 1g of carbs, plus I haven’t found a favorite yet*
– 2 egg whites 
– 3 tablespoons (maybe 4) whole milk 
– Delicious toppings: Banana, almond butter, strawberries, syrup, etc. 

Directions
1 – Grind the oats in a blender or food processor. 
2 – Combine oats and protein powder in a bowl
3 – Whisk in greek yogurt and egg whites until all ingredients are combined together
4 – Add milk 1 tablespoon at a time, whisking between, until the batter is the desired consistency 
     *I used 2 tablespoons of milk and my pancakes were a little denser than usual* 
5 – Heat a lightly greased (or buttered/cooking sprayed) pan to medium heat and pour batter in 1/4 cup dollops
6 – Flip when small bubbles are forming around the edge of the pancake, cook until golden brown on both sides. 

Serve with your favorite toppings! I used banana (for that strawberry banana flavor) and  some almond butter because I’m not a syrup person – I don’t even own any – but I’m sure they would be delicious with anything. I’m not the biggest “sweet” person so the flavor is definitely a little tangier than usual flapjacks, but substituting a fruity yogurt or adding a sweetener like honey would counteract that I’m sure. 

Image

 

Nutrition Facts (roughly! per serving)
Calories – 250, Fat – 2.7g, Carbs – 30g, Fiber – 5g, Protein – 26g

Mileage – Cross-Training, yoga 

QOD – Drama is very important in life: You have to come on with a bang. You never want to go out with a whimper. Everything can have drama if it’s done right. Even a pancake. (Julia Child) 

Image

One thought on “Protein Pancake Recipe!

  1. Pingback: Recipe Recap and Meal Planning | racingbassist

Leave a Reply

