Homemade…EVERYTHING.

I was incredibly inspired at Whole Foods on Sunday when I went shopping (plus there was an amazing deal on avocados aka most DELICIOUS green food ever), so I decided to go for the gold and make all sorts of things that I usually buy there from scratch instead. I also meal planned the hell out of this week, which hopefully means I can keep this up throughout the semester. 

Yesterday I:
– prepped mangos to freeze and store on my own
– cooked chicken for salads all week (mild seasoning so I can top it with anything)
– portioned and packaged goat cheese 
– made salsa from scratch
– made homemade pickles (still fermenting away) 

Today I:
– made guacamole (some for tonight’s salad and some portioned to freeze)
– made hummus from scratch!!!
– baked eggs for the rest of the week’s breakfasts

Tonight’s dinner is salad with 1/2 a chicken breast, chili goat cheese, homemade guac and salsa, and lime juice! An amazing meal entirely clean – and mostly paleo. Some people argue about goat cheese being clean or not but I see it ALL the time in clean recipes on a variety of well versed websites so that’s my story and I’m sticking to it. 

The recipe I’m going to share today is my guacamole recipe so here goes: 
Ingredients
– 2 large ripe avocados, halved and pitted 
– 1 clove finely minced garlic 
– 3 dashes hot sauce 
– 2 or 3 Tablespoons lime juice (usually juice from 1 lime fresh, to taste) 
– 1 – 2 Tablespoons minced pickled jalepenos (optional) 
– salt (to taste) 

Directions: 
1) In the skin cut the avocados into cubes by making vertical and horizontal cuts down each halve, put into a bowl
2) Mix in 2 Tablespoons of the lime juice and the hot sauce, smashing and slicing the avocado as you mix 
3) Stir in the garlic, jalepenos, and salt – mix evenly and make avocado chunks your preferred size 
4) TASTE! Add more lime juice, hot sauce, or salt to your liking! 

I’ve got a few more recipes up my sleeve for this weekend plus more of the recipes mentioned today to share so stay tuned haha! 

Mileage – 4 miles, yoga 

QOD – “I liked the energy of cooking, the action, the camaraderie. I often compare the kitchen to sports and compare the chef to a coach. There are a lot of similarities to it.”

 

EHWO

Guacamole!

Guacamole!

One thought on “Homemade…EVERYTHING.

  1. Pingback: Recipe Recap and Meal Planning | racingbassist

Leave a Reply

