Food, Music, and Running All Back in Texas!

I spent Friday and Saturday in the car with my awesome dad driving 1450 miles back to school! We had a great time in Nashville and went to my favorite restaurant when we finally arrived in Waco. Then I had to take him to the airport and say a sad goodbye – I miss my family a ton when I’m at school. 

But the nice thing about going to Dallas or Austin, on top of all the awesome things to do in those cities, is that there are WHOLE FOODS there! Since I hadn’t gone grocery shopping since I got back to school I went to Whole Foods and stocked up on delicious foods. 

Today and tomorrow are big days because I’m trying and creating a whole bunch of new clean and paleo recipes which I’m so excited to share with you guys throughout the rest of this week (samples: pickles, hummus, freezing my own fruit)! 

It’s been so nice to be back in the music building here to practice leading up to orchestra placement auditions today. My past 2 practice days have felt pretty good and I think having my usual surroundings back has improved my consistency. Auditions are a huge head game for me and something I commonly struggle with – but today I read an incredible article about the mental toll it takes on much more experienced musicians than myself. It’s appropriately titled The Audition and I encourage everyone to READ it.  

Also, this year I have my bike with me. My old walk to campus was 18-20 minutes, now it is 7 minutes and I don’t arrive drenched in sweat! I’m excited to go on some bike rides too with my friend Sean! (Maybe I’ll finally tackle that triathlon!)

Tonight was my first run back in Texas. I started after dark at 8:10pm AND IT WAS STILL 91 DEGREES OUTSIDE. Ugh. I don’t like the heat. I felt like someone had sucked the life out of me, but I finished my run anyways. I’m hoping I adjust to the heat faster than I did last year – I’ve cranked up my water consumption already! 

Mileage – 3 miles, 1.5 miles intervals, stretching 

QOD – “There’s a vastness here and I believe that the people who are born here breathe that vastness into their soul. They dream big dreams and think big thoughts, because there is nothing to hem them in.” (Conrad Hilton on Texas) 

Image

 

Image

Leave a Reply

