What do you think about when you run?!

So I was thinking about a blog post while running today (haha irony) and I figured I would talk about what I think while I’m running. I’ve broken it down into a range of topics, that often depend on how my body feels and my mental state before the run. 

Great Day, Great Run 
“Man, I love running, I’m so glad I came out here today”
“I wonder where I’ll be in 5 years? Wouldn’t it be cool to move to Europe?”
“What should I cook for dinner? OOO fish sounds good”
“This weather is PERFECT”  

Tough Day, Tough Run
“Okay maybe walk at the end of this song for 30 seconds, NO YOU CAN DO THIS”
“This will make me feel better right? Because I feel like death right now”
“2 days ago I ran 5 miles no problem, why the hell can’t I run 2 right now?!” 

Great Day, Tough Run
“Ugh, but I would regret being inside right now, it’s beautiful outside”
“I’ve eaten so well this week, that dress is going to look bangin’ tonight, don’t stop.”
“This will totally be worth it on race day when I PR” 

Tough Day, Great Run 
“Well at least I can run” 
Sometimes I cry. A good run always kicks my emotions into shape. 

On the in between days, when I need a distraction for a half mile or so I think about blogging, the rest of my workout, or how the song I’m listening to currently totally rules. Today I was so excited to take my flow yoga class after my run and that helped me through my recovery run (aka not super fun run). However, I ended up not going to yoga. Thankfully one of my coworkers gave me the heads up that the class would probably not be as strenuous or exciting as I would hope. 

Instead I came home and baked some delicious Apple Pumpkin Bread for my Mom’s parents and Dad’s mom who I am visiting tomorrow! It is topped with granola and while I used a box mix today for time sake, I think I need to find myself (or create?!) a clean recipe for this delicious looking breakfast bread. I did my own yoga while the bread was in the oven. The smell of apples and pumpkin makes me soooo excited for fall! If only we got the crisp fall weather in Texas…. 

What do you think about while you run or work out?? Anyone else a fall lover out there? 

Mileage – 3 miles, yoga 

QOD -You go through your 20s sort of like a chrysalis in many ways, stretching into your own skin and trying to bust out of a cocoon.

Image

 

Image

Image

One thought on “What do you think about when you run?!

Leave a Reply

