Lifting and Compression Socks! (Photo Day too!)

Yesterday was a strength training day. My workout roughly like this:

Warm-up
Back squats
  – 60%-70%-80%-90% of max, dropping my reps by 2 for every set
Hanging snatch
  – work on form (light weight – this is still the move I’m most uncomfortable with)  
Chest to Overhead 
  – 45 lbs 3 sets (10-12-15)
Pull-up Work
  – jump and dead hangs 
  – jumping pull-ups (3 sets of 10) 
Stretch

This morning when I woke up I was pretty positive my glutes and quads were rebelling against the rest of my body – it was ROUGH. I had decided I would go to the gym and maybe do a little elliptical work and keep it nice and easy. But really who am I kidding? My dad asked me to go on a run so I laced up….with my new compression socks!!! The run was brutally hot in the sun and I did have to walk for a few minutes because I could feel myself getting really over heated. But surprisingly I don’t think the socks had anything to do with it – if anything they helped a ton on the killer hills. My calves certainly feel fresher than my upper legs (but that could also be because of squats). We finished up at the gym where I did 3 rounds of 10 box jumps, 10 push-ups, and 10 KBS. I could feel yesterday in my arm but it was good to crank up my work out a notch. 

Tomorrow will probably be a well deserved rest day full of stretching and yoga because half-marathon training officially starts on Monday! 

Mileage – 3.5 miles, jumps, arms 

QOD – Just because you are close to your goal, it doesn’t mean you should stop. 

Image

 

Image

 

Image^Looking a little rough after today’s run/workout! Had to rep JMU with my new socks! ❤ DUKES! 

Image

 

 

One thought on “Lifting and Compression Socks! (Photo Day too!)

Leave a Reply

