Fruit is a Super Food (and Paleo Mexican!)

I seriously love fruit. It changes everything. Although if you ask my mom she’d say I’m crazy because I’m not a fan of fruit in salads (I don’t like sweet and savory – oh whatever). But today alone I’ve eaten/packed:
Banana (yellow)
Honey Dew (green) 
Blueberries (blue)
Apple (red)
Clementine (orange)  

That is more than half the rainbow! With all the nutrients in my fruit plus the awesome salad I’m going to get at Whole Foods today (best salad bar everrrrrrr) who needs vitamins, seriously?! I love putting fruit in my plain Greek yogurt, especially berries, because there is a ton of extra sugar and junk that gets added in to “with Fruit” or “Fruit on the Bottom” yogurts – I get the same (better, even) taste without sacrificing clean eating. 

Speaking of clean, let’s talk Mexican food. Soon I’m returning to Texas, my Tex-Mex and Mexican food haven. First of all fast food joints aren’t legit, not clean, not real meat, not healthy, not even as delicious as the real deal. I haven’t eaten any sort of “Mexican” fast food (other than the monthly Chipotle trip) in approximately 6 or 7 months, which is a seriously long time for me, but I probably won’t ever again. However, I’ve found some amazing taco trucks/stands that are cheap and serve authentic, clean, and AMAZING tacos. Cheese, sour cream, Dorito shells, and all those ingredients are US additives – real tacos are usually just meat, shredded cabbage, cilantro, and spicy, fresh homemade salsa. But what about taking Mexican/Tex-Mex a step beyond clean to paleo? Is it possible? HELL YES. Check out this awesome food blog Eat Fit Waco (I’m a huge fan) and their recent post on Mexican food – they are located in Texas which means they know their Mexican/Tex-Mex. They talk about my favorite Mexican foods like guacamole and chorizo, plus they even say Chipotle is still an option! 

Crazy Countdown
4 days until Half-Marathon training begins 
23 days until I leave MD to return to TX
1 month until Orchestra Auditions (Strauss and I are in a love-hate relationship right now)
2 months and 10 days until my first Master’s recital (holy $%#^@*!) 

 

Mileage – 4 miles 

QOD – A table, a chair, a bowl of fruit and a violin; what else does a man need to be happy? (let’s replace violin with bass haha) 

Image

Leave a Reply

