Fall Race = Houston Half!!!

Today I selected my fall race (which completes one of my summer goals!) and set my new goal time for finishing under 2:00:00! 

I chose the Houston Half as my fall race!!! My long term goal of finishing 10 half marathons and 5 marathons before my 30th birthday means I have to plan out my race schedule pretty diligently. I have no doubt that I can accomplish this goal, which comes out to roughly 2 races a year, I could exceed it too. In choosing my race this time I took several things into consideration: 

1 – Price
     – This race is only $60!
2 – Location
     – Houston is only 3 hours away and isn’t expensive which allows me to stay there and
       enjoy the city for the weekend! 
3 – Coordinators
    -This is a larger race and is coordinated by several groups which means it will be well
      organized and has a good post-race celebration. 

I’ve developed my own half marathon training schedule this time around because it makes it so much easier to align my practice, school, and running schedule. I also prefer running recovery runs the day after a long run and taking my rest day the day before long runs; most programs have rest days after long runs when in actuality activity and blood flow helps healing processes move quicker. It also allows me to incorporate CrossFit as my cross training and strengthening workouts. I seriously can’t wait to get back to my CrossFit gym next month! 

Today was my vegetarian day and I had run out of my favorite greek yogurt (aka plain 0% fat) but a while back my mom had bought plain 2% because they were out of my normal yogurt. I hated the taste, but after a great workout today I knew I needed some protein to make it through the day. I forced myself to eat the yogurt with some honey dew melon and lemon juice. And now I can finally return to my delicious plain 0% fat yogurt with berries – yummmmmm. 

Today’s workout was an hour elliptical interval session, clean and jerks, back squats, push-ups and working on my pull-ups. It was really nice to not have a time restriction on my workout and be able to do whatever I’d like and take my time! Tonight will be a good stretching and foam roll session as I gear up to start my pre-training week. Half marathon training starts a week from Monday! 

Mileage – Cross-train, lift, stretch 

QOD – Racing teaches us to challenge ourselves. It teaches us to push beyond where we thought we could go. It helps us to find out what we are made of. This is what we do. This is what it’s all about.

Image

 

Image

Leave a Reply

