Learning to Like Bananas….

My friend Paige blogged the other day about eating healthier, particularly about eating spinach. Paige doesn’t like spinach and put a few recipes she’s made recently on her blog to show people how she’s gotten herself to eat spinach – you can check out that post HERE. 

Well I love spinach – no joke it was the only salad I would eat as a child – BUT I have never liked bananas. My whole life, up until my 2nd semester of graduate school I have actually hated bananas. Primarily the flavor is what turns me off and so for almost 23 years I despised all food involving bananas. But when I decided to start eating every color of the rainbow in my fruits and veggies to eliminate vitamins I knew I had to start eating bananas. 
 
At every race I’ve run they give bananas out afterwards and almost every health, fitness, running, etc magazine suggests bananas as part of a healthy post-workout snack. So I gave in and decided to try them. I still don’t like them but I can manage to eat them alone, but I’ve also created 2 breakfasts/snacks that have them integrated in and I hardly even notice.
 
  1. Classic Banana Peanut Butter Sandwich — I make mine open faced with 17 grain toasted bread so the peanut butter is nice and melty. 
    Image
  2. Banana Oat Cluster Cookies
    – 1 cup oats for every 2 ripe bananas
    – Mix this batter with anything – raisins and craisins, peanut butter or pure cocoa powered for flavor, or even sliced almonds or protein powder
    – Bake for 15- 20 minutes at 350 degrees! 
    Image
 
How do YOU like to eat bananas?! Anyone have other recipes for me to try?
 
Also, I have to share this awesome lunch I had on vacation. I will always love lean ground turkey and chicken breasts, but I’ve also fallen in love with tender sized chicken breast. They are easy to freeze and thaw, can be marinated a million ways, cook up super fast, and I can throw them in a baggie or tupperware and heat it up later! This lunch features spicy tenders with yellow rice, it was the perfect lunch on my double workout day because I had plenty of veggies and fruit, carbs to get me through my 2nd workout, and protein to keep me full. 
Image
 
 
 
Mileage – 4.25 miles, abs, stretching 
 
QOD – Let food be thy medicine and medicine be thy food
5 thoughts on “Learning to Like Bananas….

  1. Sarah – Sneaking a banana into a milkshake, smoothie or protein shake is about the best option I can come up with. In your case, it’s so easy to hide the banana taste. Some of my favs include kale + banana + almond milk + your choice of blueberries, raspberries etc. or throwing a banana in with pre-packaged Yoplait Smoothies. There are endless combinations to fit your taste buds.

Leave a Reply

