Happy 4th of July! The running streak is over!

First I would like to say Happy 4th of July to my fellow American readers! Thank you to all the men and women who have served, serve, and will someday serve with the willingness to lay down their life for this country. Remember the Founding Fathers – George Washington, James Madison, Thomas Jefferson, John Adams, Benjamin Franklin, Alexander Hamilton, and John Jay – who worked so hard to declare our independence and create a constitution that could sustain itself for so many years and even be altered to meet the needs of its people over time. Despite my personal opinions on the state of the American government and people now, these men changed the face of democracy and created a wonderful, free country! Thank you to them. 

Over the past 39 days I have run 34 days and 103 miles as a part of the Runner’s World Summer Run Streak!!! I missed 5 days due to illness and injury, and the injury didn’t help me ramp up my overall mileage – but hey, there’s only a few months until the holiday season run streak! 

Today I finished the run streak by running with my dad in Bethany! I came down to the beach yesterday to meet my parents and spend the 4th of July with them. Today dad and I ran for 30 minutes….but of course my Nike+ was wildly off when it said we had run 3.63 miles in the heat. While I’m convinced we ran a decent pace in the high 8’s or a 9 min/mile, we probably logged closer to 3.3 miles. We finished our run at the gym – which was packed – and I did medicine ball squat and throws, some over head presses, and continued to work on unassisted pull-ups. I’m not there yet, but I can now pull myself up a few inches from a jump and dead hang. 

I enjoy being at the beach because it means I get plenty of opportunity to walk in the sand, take Stella on walks, and play some beach games that keep me active during the day. Plus the cool beach breezes make runs on days like today much less brutal. 

Mileage – 3.3 miles 

QOD – Liberty must at all hazards be supported. We have a right to it, derived from our Maker. But if we had not, our fathers have earned and bought it for us, at the expense of their ease, their estates, their pleasure, and their blood. (John Adams, 1765)

Image

 

Image

3 thoughts on “Happy 4th of July! The running streak is over!

  1. So happy for you. =) What discipline! But I know discipline yields great joy. Something funny: I saw your site name in small print on the Reader as your post surfaced and, reading quickly, thought it said “Racist” LOL LOL. I hadn’t even tagged this post (below) way back and so I later realized it hadn’t even shown up on the Reader. But are you familiar with this book?

    https://aholisticjourney.wordpress.com/2013/03/15/born-to-run-by-christopher-mcdougall/

    • HAHA! I have heard that once before, I hadn’t even thought of it when I picked the name.

      I have heard of the book, but I’ve yet to read it. I’ve heard lots of wonderful things about it and it looks like you and your blog readers enjoyed it too. I just finished a book today on the beach – maybe I’ll have to look into getting a copy soon! Thanks for the suggestion 🙂

      • We got it from the library. =) It will transform your running – and inspire you body and soul. Thanks for the follow. I look fwd to seeing more from you… Diana

        Oh, I knOw you are careful to replenish after runs….but the recent apothecary list might still serve useful!

Leave a Reply

