Sprints and Vinyasa Yoga!

Yesterday I hopped on the treadmill for the 3rd time this week – I know it’s crazy! But I’ve been waking up early to dog sit and been too tired to get out the door before it gets too humid so while recovering and running such low mileage I’ve resorted to the treadmill. I also always run on the treadmill at an incline of at least 2 to create more resistance similar to what I experience outside. Yesterday I did an interval workout that I really enjoyed it looked like this: 

Walk 2 min – Run 1 mile (10 min/mile) Walk 1 min
Interval 10 push-ups and 10 bicep curls (10lbs)
Walk 1 min – Run  .75 mile (9:14 m/m) Walk 1 min 

I continued to shorten the distance for each running interval and repeated this until I ran 3 miles and had done 50 push ups and curls . Then I did jumping pull-ups and kettlebell intervals. It was a great work out. 

Today I got on the treadmill…again…it seemed just a bit easier to me today. I ran 1 mile, trying to get closer to my mile goal for the summer of a sub 8:30. Today I ran a mile at 8:40 and I’m really excited about this!!! I didn’t feel like I was totally spent after the mile, I almost felt like I could run another mile at that pace which means I’m getting close hopefully to running my summer goal of a sub 27:00 5k!

After running I took what our gym calls Flow Yoga or Yoga for Cyclists. It was the instructors last class with our association, which makes me sad because I love her classes and always try to take a few when I’m home. The class is based on Vinyasa Yoga, which means “connection” or “flow”, and is related to doing motions in coordination with your breath. There’s a lot of motion in the class and the class is roughly divided into strengthening, balance, and stretching. I looooove the stretching portion of the class because we do some intense deep stretches that work on the hips, quads, and IT Band which is what I really need to keep my hips aligned. I also think my knees feel a ton better after that class. No pulling in the surrounding muscles or any sort of pressure in them – WOOHOO!! Tomorrow I’m considering a 5.5 mile run which I would love to accomplish after a week where 3 miles has been my longest distance. 

Mileage – 1 mile, Flow Yoga class

QOD – The rhythm of the body, the melody of the mind & the harmony of the soul create the symphony of life.

Image

Image

Leave a Reply

