Asian Quinoa and Pepper Salad

So on Sunday when I couldn’t run I decided I’d still be healthy and whip up some delicious “clean” dishes. Saturday afternoon I chopped peppers and cooked up some quinoa to have made in advance. On Sunday I decided to make a cold summer salad out of the two ingredients, but was unsure of how to season them. After some Pinterest searching I didn’t find anything that piqued my interest, but saw a rice and pepper recipe that got me thinking. So I present to you my original recipe for Asian Quinoa and Pepper Salad!

1 cup uncooked quinoa
1 red pepper
1 green pepper
1 yellow pepper
1 orange pepper

Dressing:
1/2 cup soy sauce
6 tbs rice wine vinegar
3 tbs sesame oil
1 tbs lemon juice
1 clove garlic, minced
2 tsp cilantro
1/2 tsp chili peppers (or to taste)
2 tbs sesame seeds (optional)

Step 1 – Cook the quinoa and allow to cool (I use 1 & 3/4 cups water to 1 cup uncooked quinoa)
Step 2 – Chop the peppers in roughly bite size pieces (remove the seeds)
Step 3 – Mix all the dressing ingredients in a bowl except the oil. While whisking the dressing slowly add the oil for a blended dressing.
Step 4 – Combine the quinoa and peppers. Then pour over the dressing and mix well!

Here’s the gorgeous product! I hope you enjoy it!!

20130626-195340.jpg

20130626-195529.jpg

Leave a Reply

