National Running Day!!!!

Today is National Running Day! It is always on the first Wednesday in June and I must say, it’s a great day! And there’s plenty of time left to get out there and run today!

I went for a beautiful 5.5 miler this morning. It was only 67 degrees outside with a great breeze. While I did have to catch my breath and hack up some left over phlegm from my cold  a couple times, it was otherwise great to be outside on a mid- run again. Then when my mom got home she asked to go for a run again!!!! So we laced up and did another run, shorter than yesterday because her legs were sore from her first run. 

I forgot to post a final wrap up for my Plank & Squat challenge so here goes!
1) It is definitely a great challenge, my legs burned after 150 squats and the planks eventually had me going until I collapsed and had to finish out the rest in a second plank.
2) But I would be concerned if someone started the challenge and had a knee problem or was doing the moves. The high level of repetition could really cause some harm, this is accentuated by the lack of rest days as well.
3) While I didn’t complete all 31 days I did complete 24 and am already contemplated my next challenge to go along with my run streak! I’ve found a new 30 day squat challenge that has lower reps (maybe I could even throw on some weight) and a couple rest days, which will definitely help me.
4) The thing I love about the body weight exercises challenge trend is that you can do these exercises at home, on vacation, at camp, anywhere really! 

Tomorrow I’ll be posting about my vegetarian days and my push-up progress! 

Mileage – 7.1 miles, pushups, abs, yoga 

QOD – Every morning in Africa a gazelle wakes up. It knows it must run faster than the lion or it will not survive. Every morning a lion wakes up and it knows it must run faster than the slowest gazelle or it will starve. It doesn’t matter if you are the lion or the gazelle, when the sun comes up, you better be running. 

 

Image

Image

 

 

My “completed” Plank & Squat Challenge! 
Image

Leave a Reply

