My Mama (and my cold)

So for those of you who know MamaFav, you know she is in amazing shape. For those of you who don’t know my mama, she works out frequently, eats well, was a high school and collegiate athlete, and is in overall great shape. My mom loves to play tennis, go for walks, take kickboxing or BodyStep classes, or just do her own workout with cardio and weights. But my mom hates running. She will be the first person to tell you she hates it, it’s a big mental roadblock for her. 

A month or two ago my mom bought some running sneakers and went on a couple of walk/jogs herself, but it never caught on. Tonight however, my mom laced up her shoes and went running with me! I was willing to walk when she needed or go a little slower thanks to my crummy head cold- but I barely had to!  We ran 2.4 miles, mom walked .5 or .6 miles of it, and the rest of the time we ran! Sitting around a 10:41 average for the whole run, my guess is that we were running around a 9 mpm – NOT BAD FOR SOMEONE WHO HATES RUNNING! I was thoroughly impressed and proud of my mom, especially when she ran her way up some longer, tough hills. 

Friday – mid morning today I have been suffering from a dumb head cold and wasn’t able to run, particularly on Saturday and Sunday. So clearly my run streak will not be 39 days straight but here’s to hoping for 31 straight from here on out, and successfully running 36 of the days. I used to think running with a cold was no big deal, but I’ve read several times now that running with a cold can be a bad decision due to weakened immune systems, poor breathing, and coughing or wheezing. So this trip around the sickness block I tried to take it easy and give myself a break. I think I was much better for the wear, but I will definitely admit, I feel better in general when I run and it’s a crummy feeling not to be able to go out, especially when my legs feel great! 

Tomorrow I will get to run to my heart’s content hopefully, AND babysit 3 of my favorite kiddos on top of having nearly all day to practice my bass. I am thoroughly excited for my day off. 

Mileage – 2.5miles, stretch 

QOD – Motivation will almost always beat mere talent.

Me and my Mama (at Dallas Stadium of course!) 

Image

 

And I LOVE this awesome motivational picture haha!!! So great! 

Image

 

2 thoughts on “My Mama (and my cold)

  1. Love this. I’ve really wanted to be running at least a mile for every day Drew is gone but I’ve been sick and can’t stop coughing!! Bummer

Leave a Reply

