Long Run and the “Streak”!

There’s something special about long runs for me. While I feel great after every run, the adrenaline left over from a long run gives me a rush for hours afterwards. Part of the long run feelings for me may come from my childhood aversion to running, being the kid who took 13 minutes to finish the mile in gym because I’d rather just walk. I liked sports and was  competitive in gym class, but if there wasn’t a goal at the other end of the field I wasn’t interested in running. 

 
I took my time getting into running and when I ran my first 7 mile run in August of 2010 I called my parents absolutely ecstatic with excitement about my 11:50something per mile long run. I didn’t run another long run until May of 2011, when I had begun training for my first marathon – and at first I dreaded them. I would often start incredibly slow, scared of tiring myself out to early, but often never picking up the speed I probably was been capable of. 
 
But as my training progressed I took great pride in even starting a long run. My new positive attitude has helped me continue to go on long runs even while not training for a distance race. The new goal of running 144 miles in six weeks will also continue to motivate me through the hot months (which is really not my favorite season to run). Saturday I ran 7.82 miles at an awesome pace and it was such a thrill when I finished – I need to start looking for a fall race or two to help me keep this up. 
 
TODAY I started my “streak” as part of the Runner’s World Running Streak. The goal is to run at least 1 mile everyday from Memorial Day until Independence Day – 39 consecutive days of running. I started my streak out with a run with my aunt and dad, and it was the best way I could have started! Join in on the streak!!  Streaks are often popular around the winter holiday season. Has anyone done one before? What’s your longest running streak? 
 
Mileage – 4.5 miles, stretching, P&S challenge 
QOD – People sometimes sneer at those who run every day, claiming they’ll go to any length to live longer. But don’t think that’s the reason most people run. Most runners run not because they want to live longer, but because they want to live life to the fullest. If you’re going to while away the years, it’s far better to live them with clear goals and fully alive then in a fog, and I believe running helps you to do that. Exerting yourself to the fullest within your individual limits: that’s the essence of running, and a metaphor for life — and for me, for writing as whole. I believe many runners would agree. 
 
Image
 
 
Image
Leave a Reply

