Food Struggs in Summer. (Plus the dress is still up for grabs!)

In March of 2012 I was beyond stressed. Dealing with graduate school decisions, my senior recital, and some other life changes I unhealthily dropped weight, mostly from lack of eating. It wasn’t like the weight I had lost healthily from WeightWatchers and exercise. I was, for the first time in my life, in the “underweight” class for my height. When I realized how much weight I had lost once the stress was over I began to enjoy summertime a little too much. Unfortunately, I quickly regained the weight I’d lost (plus a lot more) by the time I was a month into my first semester of grad school. I primarily regained those pounds….because of summertime. 

Summertime always seems to mean cookouts, beer and wings, margaritas and any other fruity drink involving tequila or vodka, and vineyard/brewery adventures on days off. I love these things, really I do. Summertime also means it gets too hot to run in the middle of the day, meaning a few runs here and there get lost in the cracks. I don’t love this. 

Thanks to Texas and a better workout plan, my workouts will not go by the wayside this summer. But it’s really hard to say no when it comes to my favorite summer foods and drinks.  While many people say the battle is 70%food and 30%fitness or even 80/20, I am convinced my body prefers to operate at the 90/10 level. My eating habits need to be under control this summer for me to achieve my goals of losing at least 10 more pounds rather than gaining it – and I’ve already lost about 8 towards the end of the semester and so far this summer. I know a number on the scale shouldn’t be a goal, but I also know that when I eat even cleaner and weigh less than I do now, my body fat % is lower, my BMI is lower, and I feel more comfortable in my own skin. 

Today was my first summertime food struggle. I went out to lunch with the person I am interning under and we went to a Mexican restaurant (for those that don’t know me I LOVE MEXICAN FOOD). Actually I love any food in general, but I’m an especially big fan of spicy, cheesy, meaty, lime infused deliciousness, all wrapped up in carbohydrates and topped with guac. But I knew what I had to do – order lighter. I got chicken fajitas with no cheese, no sour cream, no black beans; I just ate chicken, peppers, tomatoes, lettuce, and not even a fork full of guacamole on my corn tortillas. I even peeled the skin off my chicken, and it still tasted delicious! I didn’t feel stuffed or sick, or even have that greasy after taste like usual. And I have to say I’m proud of myself.

I’ll indulge here or there, maybe even just have tastes of someone else’s indulgence. I think I’ve finally figured out that moderation means on a daily basis not “eat really healthy for 5 days, then spend 3 practically binging on whatever I want”. Haha, I know it sounds ridiculous but that’s how I operated last summer, and in the end you just end up always indulging and the healthy habits are gone. 

Food and I have a twisted relationship, through my cooking, clean eating adventures, and traveling I’ve tried to improve upon it. It’s a hard topic for me to discuss, so thanks for reading guys. I’m going to the beach this weekend with my family and having wrote all this out gives me all the inspiration I need to start building clean habits on vacations too. 

Don’t forget about the adorable dress you can win HERE!! There’s still time to enter! 

Mileage – P&SChallenge, yoga! 

QOD – We are indeed much more than what we eat, but what we eat can nevertheless help us to be much more than what we are.

Image

 

Image

Leave a Reply

