Get your lift on.

After my run today I figured it was time to hit the weights. I used to use free weights at the gym at home and pretty much anywhere I worked out. Then when I committed to CrossFit, I realized my free weight routine wasn’t cutting it. It had made me as strong as it could, but I wasn’t getting the results I wanted. 

I’ve really come to love lifting and I have a feeling before long I’ll be lifting more than I ever thought I could, especially with my wrist surgery. My wrists never feel stressed now when I strength train, especially now that I’ve learned proper forms. But I’ve noticed people always seem to ask about the weight lifting aspect of training, they assume because I want to lift heavier weights, I want to bulk up on muscle – that I’m going to look like a body builder. To be honest, that’s not what I’m after and most other women that train like me don’t want it either. I strength train to build lean muscle, to strengthen my bones, to shed fat, to increase my speed when I run, all sorts of things that don’t involve bodybuilding. Lifting weights does so much more for anyone (women and men) than just build bulk muscle – don’t be scared of it! It makes a huge difference. 

So today I did clean and jerks and had one of my awesome co-workers Darryl come in and watch once I had warmed up. I had him watch for the bar and my hands proximity to my body as I have the tendency to push away, which makes you weaker. It’s something I’ve been working on and I was stoked to see improvement today! I even tacked on 5lbs more than usual. 

Mileage – 4.2 miles, Clean and Jerks, Abs, P&S Challenge 

QOD – The Iron will always kick you the real deal. The Iron is the great reference point, the all-knowing perspective giver. Always there like a beacon in the pitch black. I have found the Iron to be my greatest friend. It never freaks out on me, never runs. Friends may come and go. But two hundred pounds is always two hundred pounds.

Image

 

 

Leave a Reply

