May Challenge and Nike+

Today I put forth the Plank&Squat Challenge. It is a month of planks and squats everyday, fluctuating but overall increasing. When I threw my first day of the challenge in during my post-run abs session, I didn’t think it was very difficult. But as I’m looking towards the end of the month, I know this thing will start to kick my ass every day – and I’m totally excited for it! I think once the reps get high enough on the squats I will break them up throughout the day, today I did 4 sets of 20 reps. I printed out a copy to hang up so I can cross each day off, having something to check off is helpful for me. You should join in too – here’s a copy:

Image

And now onto my thoughts on Nike+ !!!
1) You don’t need the shoes and that’s very cool. I just

2) Mine is not always accurate, which is very frustrating.

3) But it does tell you great statistics about your running and lets you see how you stack up against other Nike+ runners, and since my watch is usually short on distance, it means in reality my speed and distance is even better than it says!

My Nike+ has told me that in the past 30 days, I have run 43 miles. It can tell me my average pace and distance as well. But the coolest is my personal records section, shockingly my all my records were set in 2 different races! Most calories burned, longest time, and longest distance were all during the Marine Corps Marathon. My fastest 1k, 5k, and mile were all during the 10k race I ran with my dad last July 1st. It was brutally hot but I came in 13th out of all women. I’m a little surprised because Dad and I both felt slow on that day, but I guess not!!

I think for now I’m going to stick it out on my Nike+, as of today I have run 199 runs with it and nearly 850 miles. Can’t wait until I make it to 1,000 – it is pretty cool to be able to say that I know how much I’ve run with this band in the past 2 years!

Mileage – 4.3miles, abs, yogaaa

QOD – Believe that you can run farther or faster. Believe that you’re young enough, old enough, strong enough, and so on to accomplish everything you want to do. Don’t let worn-out beliefs stop you from moving beyond yourself.

 

Leave a Reply

