Love for a Rough Week and Beethoven 9

Love and cherish one another, this world needs a lot of love. Treat everyone with respect and compassion. 

John 15:12

This has been a rough week for America. Boston on Monday, the explosion in West on Wednesday, and now Boston again today. Sometimes it’s hard to decided how to handle these things because I don’t feel right posting about my workouts or meals, when other people are struggling with the after affects from these tragedies. Today will be my first run since Boston and I hope my thoughts and prayers will be heard, as running and yoga are my favorite times to pray. 

Tuesday I went to CrossFit, but due to recitals, rain, rehearsals, and an epic paper due next Monday, my work outs this week have otherwise been non-existent. I can’t wait to get back to a normal schedule next week and finish out the semester strong. The craziness will hopefully end next weekend and I will be much happier when all of the insanity of this semester will be over. 

In bass world news – I have 6.5 hours of rehearsal today, which I’m already concerned about my mental stamina for. But I am so excited that our Beethoven 9 concert is tomorrow! It’s been a lot of preparation, both personal (since last semester) and in the ensemble, and I think it will be a beautiful experience. I’ve seen a lot of amazing changes in my bass playing this semester and I’m excited to finally hear the progress of my practicing in my orchestral repertoire excerpts, which I’ve struggled with since arriving at Baylor.

Beethoven 9 is also a very fitting piece for performance this weekend. It is beautiful music and a powerful message many people in the Waco community can appreciate hearing during this difficult time of rebuilding and recovering after the tragedy in West.

Mileage – 2.5 – 4.5 haven’t decided 

QOD – There’s something so universal about that sensation, the way running unites our two most primal impulses: fear and pleasure. We run when we’re scared, we run when we’re ecstatic, we run away from our problems and run around for a good time. 

 

Leave a Reply

