Taper Week!

So this week has been a bit crazy. It’s also been a taper week for my race tomorrow!!! But I will state that the sit ups we did in Crossfit this week left me hurting for dayssss. I want to do them every week – it was awesome. Monday was the 5 minutes of butterfly sit ups with integrated V-ups that I talked about Monday night, and then on Wednesday we did 4 minutes of butterfly sit ups in our Tabata sequence.

For those of you that don’t know Tabata it is an AMAZING thing. It is in line with HIIT (High Intensity Interval Training) and you can do it with anything. The concept is essentially 20 seconds on then 10 seconds off repeated for however long you want. I’ve used it with running before, because it helps build endurance and strength. Your body doesn’t truly go into rest mode during those 10 seconds so you’re still building endurance. On Wednesday we did it with pull-ups, push-ups, sit-ups, and squats. It’s a much harder workout than you think, everyone should try it and incorporate it every once and while into their workouts!

The rest of this week I’ve been taking it pretty easy. Tuesday I hopped on a bike and pedaled while studying for my exam, Thursday afternoon Ben and I went for a 2.4 mile run, and yesterday the weather was amazing so Ben and I hiked in Cameron Park! It was beauuuutiful weather and the views were great when we got to the top. We “walked” up Jacob’s Ladder (a crazy steep and long staircase cut into a cliff side) and we also climbed our way up an unmarked, but used trail to get to the top. It was a great calf workout. We probably hiked/walked 4 miles or so and it felt so nice to be out in the sun.

This afternoon I’m headed to Austin to pick up my race packet for the Austin 10/20 tomorrow!!! I’m so excited, I can’t wait to hear all the different bands performing during the race. I will say with the gorgeous weather continuing, it’s hard to take it easy today so I’m going to go for a walk around the Bear Trail before I bury myself in homework for a few hours.

Mileage – 2.25 mile walk

QOD – Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm!

20130413-104637.jpg

Leave a Reply

