Perspective on Your Body

I think some people struggle with the whole health and fitness world because people make it seem like you have to choose. That you either have to be
1) Unhappy with your body and constantly striving perfection you will never achieve; to be slimmer, faster, or stronger
OR
2) You have to choose to be content with your current body, be the type of person who can be perceived as lazy because you love your muffin top, aren’t interesting in going fitness overboard, or refuse to relinquish McDonald’s.
But I think these two contradicting ideas can actually coexist and help you as an individual if you look at them in a more positive light.

I appreciate my body, it doesn’t look how I want it to yet, but that doesn’t mean I shouldn’t love it; it does all the things I ask of it. I say thank you to my legs after a long run, I say thank you to my hands for learning to play the bass. I dress myself for who I am now, not who I was or who I’m going to be. You have to be love yourself as you are, enjoy seeing your own face in the mirror sometimes. We all have bad days but if you regularly doubt yourself it can reflect in your relationship with others!

That being said, you don’t have to be content or “finished”. As a musician I know that no performance is ever perfect, there is always opportunity to grow and improve in my playing. Your relationship with your body should be the same. Fitness and food affect the parts of your body that you can’t see, the things not reflected in the mirror. Being in shape, eating a balanced diet, and having a strong core eases back pain, relieved headaches, and helps your body handle stress. Looking good improves confidence and your outlook on life. It’s okay to have a goal dress to fit into or aspirations of running a new distance. Change is good, it’s what makes life interesting, allows us to building relationships and our own character.

So I encourage people not to take a side. To see your body and health as a continually changing work of art; it’s beautiful in every stage even as a blank canvas but that doesn’t mean the artist is going to stop working on it. Like they say, happiness is a journey not a destination.

Mileage – 5.5 miles, CrossFit, yoga

QOD – “When we’re awake in our bodies and sense, the world comes alive. Wisdom, creativity, and love are discovered as we relax and awaken in our bodies.”

“Your body is a temple, but only if you treat it as one.”

Leave a Reply

