Let’s Talk Breakfast

It shocks me how many people eat such horrific breakfasts. Within the hour of your body first waking up is the prime time to jump start your metabolism for the day. It’s also the best part of the day to eat complex carbohydrates and proteins to prevent hunger and lack of energy throughout the day. People eat nothing at all, or worse just coffee (Yes I am a coffee hater, sorry not sorry). Sugary pop-tarts and overly processed diet bars are equally useless to your nutrient craving body. Breakfast is the one meal of the day I never stray from my new lifestyle choices, and a healthy breakfast has long been a part of my morning routine.

So what do I eat for breakfast? Well I eat 2 breakfasts everyday!

Sometime around 7-8am: Green tea, 16 oz cold water, 1 Egg , complex carbs (usually shredded wheat), and FRUIT!

Sometime around 10am: Tea, water, 2/3 cup of 0% fat plain greek yogurt and FRUIT!

Complex carbs – Eat them in their natural form. The label on whatever grain you choose should have that as the only ingredients, for example: whole grain oats or whole grain wheat. That’s what makes the product clean.

Yogurt – Many people don’t like plain yogurt but plain 0% fat greek yogurt is the only yogurt that is considered clean – lucky for me it’s the only kind of yogurt I like!

Eggs – I try to mix it up on weekends, but during the week I eat ‘baked’ eggs. On Sunday evenings I put my oven at 350 degrees, crack open my eggs into a slightly greased (spray or butter) cupcake tin, bake for 15 minutes or until the whites are firm and VOILA. I store the egg muffins in the fridge for the week and pop them in the microwave for 30 seconds each morning and top them with OLD BAY of course – I am from Maryland and I am eternally grateful to my big Geraldine for mailing me Old Bay because you can’t buy it here.

Tea – drink it. It is an amazing thing. It has more caffeine then coffee, it’s better for your vocal cords, revs your metabolism, and doesn’t stain your teeth. It also doesn’t require gross sugar or creamer.

Water – DRINK IT. Most people live in a constant state of dehydration. Drinking 8 glasses a day minimum will change your life. I promise.

FRUIT!!! – All the colors of the rainbow! I eat 5 – 6 pieces of fruit a day and I try to eat at least 3 different colors of fruit everyday. The different colors of fruits and vegetables are associated with different vitamins, nutrients, and health benefits, so you should incorporate all of them into your eating habits!

Photos!

This morning’s delicious breakfast #1!

20130228-090407.jpgThe new green tea leaves my parents got me in Puerto Rico!!! SO DELICIOUS!!! 20130228-090449.jpg

Today’s fruit selection. Granny Smith Apples, grapes, and grapefruit are everyday staples. Oranges, kiwi, and pomegranate are in the other fruit weekly rotations. 20130228-090528.jpg

This is the label of my shredded wheat. Vitamin E isn’t considered an artificial preservative (I’m pretty sure). The goal of clean eating pre-packaged foods is to have less than 6 ingredients. Success. 20130228-090633.jpg

Leave a Reply

