Long Run… Longer Than Expected.

My plan for an 8 mile run today was all set into action last night. Early to bed, woke up today and mapped out a brand new route through the “Baylor Bubble” (one of the safe areas to run in Waco) and along the Brazos River Trail! Then I was off.

Nice. And. Slow.

About 2.7 miles along my route I come to a construction halt on the river trail. Fabulous. I instantly know this will add mileage to my already longest distance since October 6th. But I was determined to finish. My speed had been increasing as I felt more comfortable with the distance, so I certainly wasn’t being overly cautious. I wrapped around the construction up on the main roads and found my way down to the trail again in some roundabout fashion. Ran until the turn around point and it was there that I picked up my real runner’s high (so about 4.3 miles-ish? in) and kicked up the pace a little. I ran all the way back home, ever increasing my speed, which I didn’t really notice until I did my usual last quarter mile sprint.

At this point I look down at my Nike+ watch (note: I don’t run in the shoes, but I have a little pocket to attach the reader) and it says I ran 7.26 miles at 11:26mpm. OH HELL NO. I know my paces and that wasn’t possible. So I gingerly, and angrily, walk up my apartment stairs and instantly MapMyRun it. 8.75. Yeah that sounds much better. This is the most recent in a long string of issues I’ve had with my Nike+ in the past few weeks, which I’ve had for almost 2 years now. It has served me well and it was one of the best gifts I received for my birthday that year. So I think it might be time to switch over to Garmin.

Anyone have any other suggestions???

Currently my hip flexors are on fire so I’m going to spend awhile stretching and making my poor legs hurt so good.

Mileage – 8.75, abs, yoga

QOD -Struggling and suffering are the essence of a life worth living. If you’re not pushing yourself beyond the comfort zone, if you’re not demanding more from yourself – expanding and learning as you go – you’re choosing a numb existence. You’re denying yourself an extraordinary trip.

Image

Leave a Reply

