Shoe Breakup

It is a hard thing for me to say, but I think it is time to end the relationship with my current running shoes. They are wayyyyy beyond the 500 mile marker and I want to go in a more minimal direction, at the very least more lightweight. I will be sad to say goodbye to these running shoes, they are particularly special. I ran my first 5k, 10k, half marathon, and full marathon in this pair of shoes. That’s a lot of running milestones, but I think the time has come. Lucky for me the most recent issue of Runner’s World has a Spring Shoe guide and lots of reviews which have given me a good idea of the direction I want to go in. I’m pretty sure I won’t be wearing Mizuno Wave Riders anymore. I weigh less than when I bought my current shoes and I have decreased my impact while running. The Wave Riders were definitely a lighter option when I first started, but now they are starting to feel heavy.

Today I made the mistake of going for a run in the midday sun. I’ve realized now that in Texas a breezy 76 degree February midday is just as hot at a 76 degree summer morning, if not hotter because the sun shines so brightly and more directly here. But I survived the run and maybe acclimating myself to the weather here now that I’m getting more fit could be a good thing – go for a hot run or sprints once a week perhaps?

Also, I’ve made some delicious meals this week!!! Pan seared tilapia and goat cheese served over spicy tomato sauce quinoa and broccoli was Wednesday’s dinner. On Thursday I made homemade corn tortillas and had shrimp, spinach, and goat cheese quesadillas. I’m so close to being down 10 lbs since starting, I really feel motivated to keep up the healthy eating.

Mileage – 5.15 miles, abs, weight train

QOD – When people ask me why I run, I tell them, there’s not really a reason, it’s just the adrenalin when you start, and the feeling when you cross that finish line, and know that you are a winner no matter what place you got.

20130207-233510.jpg

20130207-233526.jpg

Leave a Reply

