My Tools

A couple years back I decided to run a marathon… I had no idea what I was doing. This year I decided to eat clean, I yet again I had no idea what to do. But I’ve found some pretty great resources over the past few years and I get a lot of people who ask for my help or advice and so I thought I’d share some of my favorites .

Running: 

1) http://www.runnersworld.com

 I love Runner’s World. I buy the magazine and check the website regularly, lots of great stretches and answers almost any running question you could have. 

2) http://www.mapmyrun.com 

This is a great site for figuring out the distances of your run, with long runs you can’t just wing it the first few times until you get used to the distances and surrounding areas. 

3) Marathon and Half Marathon: The Beginner’s Guide by Marnie Caron 

While I don’t do the run-walk method, which the author suggests here, the other advice is INCREDIBLY valuable and this was one of my greatest resources in running my full and half marathons. (See Picture!) 

Eating: 

1) http://pinterest.com/sfavvy/clean-eating/

Yup, Pintrest. That’s one of my favorite ways to find great recipes and websites. It’s a matter of self control, so I do pin my clean food separately from other foods. 

2) http://www.thegraciouspantry.com

This is an AWESOME clean eating website. Really great explanations and grocery lists, along with tons of recipes that you wouldn’t even guess are clean and healthy. 

3) foodgawker.com 

While some of the food on this site is overly indulgent (although probably incredibly delicious) there are some really great healthy recipes you can easily make clean. It can also lead to some awesome food blogs since it’s a compilation site like Pintrest. 

 

Mileage – 3 miles, lift, abs 

QOD –  Number one is just to gain a passion for running. To love the morning, to love the trail, to love the pace on the track. Image

Leave a Reply

