Lesson…or a few…learned.

So today I have learned several new things, thanks to a series of unfortunate events. 

1) Breads without preservatives don’t last very long,  especially when you’re a single roommate-less grad student who only eats one slice a day. It tastes great and I hate wasting food 😦 So I’ll be looking into this dilemma or maybe finding a smaller recipe with less servings? Because it’s hard to eat 16 slices of bread in 5 days. My loaf is in the freezer now with the hopes of keeping it fresher a little while longer. Also, I could eliminate bread all together and find another carb for breakfast? Note: I hate oatmeal (I tried to force feed it to myself, just not an option). 

2) My hair does not curl. Unless I sleep with it in about a dozen damp tiny twists over night. Today I attempted to curl my hair since I had a spare few minutes, alas it was straight-ish again in about 30 minutes. 

3) When you alter the amount of one or two liquid ingredients in a salad dressing, appropriately adjust your seasoning. I just consumed some very pepper-y and salty salad dressing… Yes it’s common sense, but I thought there would be enough of the other ingredients to balance it out. This will be an unfortunate week of salads. 

HOWEVER, there are some positives! I discovered last night that quinoa cooked with a broth is more flavorful; definitely never going back to using water. And sorry east coast friends, I just have to say I am in love with this  65-72 degree weather and it makes winter running a hell of a lot nicer. 

Mileage – 4 miles 

QOD – “I run because if I didn’t, I’d be sluggish and glum and spend too much time on the couch. I run to breathe the fresh air. I run to explore. I run to escape the ordinary. I run to savor the trip along the way. Life becomes a little more vibrant, a little more intense. I like that.”

Leave a Reply

