Sprints and Training Changes!

Today I did my new abs and weight training routine and then I was supposed to cross train – usually an hour of intervals on the elliptical for me. But I decided to do a series of sprints on the treadmill and see if they’ve gotten any faster recently with all the change ups in how I’ve been training and working out my body. WOW.

Huge difference. I could not only sprint for a full 2 minutes at a 7:30 without feeling control but even after 3 reps of that I still managed to sprint a 7:04 for my 4th rep and a 6:40 down to a 6:19 on my extended 5th rep. Awhile back, even during the peak of my marathon training, even 30 seconds at one of those speeds would have been way too much from me. I would’ve felt out of control and incredibly winded, but this time my legs and core felt stable and while I was breathing heavy I felt like I hadn’t even reached my max yet! I think the hills and strength that I have incorporated into my training has helped sooo much. They will definitely be continued. I also want to incorporate more agility and upper body strengthening exercises aside from the weights that I lift to help prepare for the Tough Mudder.

Also I tried vegan southwest “beef” on my spinach salad today. It actually tasted alright. I was shocked.

Mileage – WT and 2.25 miles

QOD – Success is to be measured not so much by the position that one has reached in life as by the obstacles which he has overcome while trying to succeed.

Leave a Reply

